Otto Warburg Medal

Medal Freigestellt


It honours and encourages pioneering achievements in fundamental biochemical and molecular biological research and is regarded as the highest award for biochemists and molecular biologists in Germany. Eight of the prize-winners have received the Nobel prize including the 2013 laureate, Prof. Randy W. Schekman. The medal has been endowed with prize money of 25,000 euros sponsored exclusively by Elsevier and its flagship set of life sciences journals, Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA).

The German Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (Gesellschaft für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie, GBM) is the largest organisation for life sciences in Germany. With its almost 5,500 members, it is committed to serving the interests of all those working and researching in the dynamic and promising disciplines of chemistry, medicine and biology – from professors to first-year students. Whether it is the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft), journalists, the authorities, or professional associations in other disciplines: anyone needing to call on expertise in questions of biochemistry and molecular biological sciences turns first and foremost to the GBM.

Visit the GBM website for further information


View the winners and latest announcements on the award website

Application process

The Otto Warburg Medal is awarded to scientists who have made first-class, internationally recognized contributions in the fields of biochemistry and molecular biology. The focus is on outstanding personalities who enjoy an excellent reputation extending far beyond their specialist field and beyond their particular country of origin.

The Otto Warburg Medal has been awarded regularly since 1963 by a panel of experts from the ranks of the GBM. Every GBM member is entitled to propose a nominee to the Executive Board of the GBM. The Executive Board of the society deliberates in a closed meeting on the candidates nominated for the prize.

The annual award ceremony is held in public, alternating between the Fall Conference of the GBM and the Mosbach Colloquium in spring.