科研诚信

爱思唯尔分享了研究界促进科研诚信的目标,涵盖从适当的设计方法、道德文章的提交、适当审议的出版物到使科研数据可供重复使用。下面,简要地列出了我们为将此愿景转化为实际步骤而采取的诸多举措。

信息、教育和培训

科研机构在其教育和培训环节中频繁强调科研诚信。爱思唯尔也提供此类培训,特别是在撰写和出版科研文章的背景下。

作者:

关于各种主题的在线讲座和互动课程,包括作者署名、剽窃和利益冲突。

  • 在线讲座由顶级专家演讲,讲座之后还设有问答环节以促进讨论。
  • 互动培训课程引导参与者学习主题,并在学习过程中对他们进行知识检测。

访问爱思唯尔Publishing Campus

编辑:

不仅新编辑在初次遇到科研诚信问题时通常需要获得指导,而且资深编辑在处理科研诚信指控时也希望能够得到支持。


重复使用科研数据

科研数据是建立科学和医疗知识的基础。随着科研数字化能力的提高,储存和保存科研数据有了新的可能性。以数字形式留存科研结果有许多优点:

  • 改善访问、重复使用和再现性,
  • 降低成本,
  • 节约资源,
  • 推动发现,
  • 培养跨学科科研,
  • 促进所出版科研成果的诚信。

在爱思唯尔,我们认为有10个方面让科研数据有效——它们可作为路线图,引领开发适用于完整的科研过程,并有利于科研数据生命周期的更好的数据管理流程和系统。这些方面包括保存、可访问性、引用、再现和重复使用。考虑到这些特性,我们促成了Force11Scholix以及研究数据联盟(RDA)等数据举措。

作为一家出版商和信息分析提供商,爱思唯尔创造了众多数字产品和平台,它们将科研数据嵌入科研工作流,从而使数据能够被访问、发现和重复使用,最终支持科研成果出版诚信。

下方所有工具均可彼此无缝集成,从而避免重复工作。所有工具均有开放API,以便本地化集成。

  • Mendeley Data提供数据存储库,科研人员可在此储存、协作、查找、分享和公开其科研数据
  • Research Elements(科研要素)提供经同行评议的开放获取期刊集,从而使数据、软件、材料和方法可供进一步发现、重复使用和引用
  • 实验室电子记录系统Hivebench帮助科研人员在实验室环境中更好地注释、分享和检索其实验和方法。

查找我们所有数据举措列表


剽窃和图像篡改

违反科研诚信最常见的一种形式是剽窃。

  • 为了在出版之前检测剽窃,STM出版团体一起开发出了Crossref相似度检测(先前称为CrossCheck),这是一项帮助编辑核实论文原创性的服务。爱思唯尔为此项服务贡献了逾1000万篇文章和超过7,000本图书,目前也在使用它对照先前已出版的5000万学术内容书刊对每篇投稿进行检查。

最近,越来越多的科研诚信问题涉及到图像复制或不当的图像篡改。此种情况偶尔会被目光敏锐的审稿人或编辑发现,但要一致地识别潜在问题则需要系统化流程。

  • 我们的部分期刊已经对所提交的图像进行人工图像筛查流程,但对所有投稿进行此种筛查将需要半自动化的流程。
  • 爱思唯尔在这方面非常活跃,不仅进行试点还赞助软件开发研究。例如,我们与柏林洪堡大学合作,建立了洪堡-爱思唯尔高级数据与文本(HEADT)中心,以调查有关科研诚信的问题。

结构化和透明报告

多年来,通过要求遵守像CONSORT这样的报告指南,卫生医疗科研及其报告的诚信已经得到改善。虽然很多人认同(结构化)指南很实用,但其他学科还没有这类标准。

  • 为此,爱思唯尔期刊Biochemical Pharmacology推出了一份作者检查表,以确保遵循适当科研程序,并按程序报告。
  • Cell Press已向其大部分期刊推出STAR Methods。STAR Methods是提供结构化、透明、可访问报告的方法。它们通过无缝集成到科学信息流中的直观、一致框架促进严谨性和稳定性,这让作者可以更方便地报告,让读者能够更轻松地进行复制。当去年Cell开始使用STAR Methods出版论文时,反响非常积极。
    正如一名科研人员所写:

我认为这项措施将极大帮助科学更具再现性。


预先登记和已登记报告

适当科研的关键要素是,不让科研方案的执行和数据的收集或分析在科研过程中受到影响。预先登记研究方法是一种通过在实验之前审核研究方案来提高科学透明度和再现性的方法。

Cortex期刊提供已登记报告

2013年,爱思唯尔期刊Cortex成为第一批提供已登记报告的期刊之一,这是一种旨在消除出版偏见并激励最佳科学实践的实证文章类型。与传统出版不同,Cortex和我们提供已登记报告的其他期刊,采用不同的出版方法:基于先前提交的被认为方法可靠且处理重要科学问题的研究方案暂时接受文章。研究工作被暂时接受后,作者就可以在知道研究结果本身将不会决定文章是否发表的情况下开展科研。同时,最终论文的读者会对该项工作的可再现性更有信心,因为初期研究预测和分析计划已经过独立评审。

查看最近的已登记报告例子


The Lancet REWARD活动

每年,全球约3300多亿美元花在生物医学科研上。但有证据表明,有些投资是浪费的,其原因在于设计、进行和分析科研、设定科研优先级以及调整和管理科研的方式;大量科研成果没有出版以及所发表科研成果报告不良也是部分原因。

在2014年出版四篇关于如何让生物医学科研增加价值和减少浪费的系列论文后,The Lancet推出了REWARD(减少科研浪费和奖励尽职)活动,呼吁参与生物医学科研的所有人对其工作方式进行批判性审视,以确保让科研尽可能有价值和实用。

REWARD声明包括以下约定:

我们相信,我们不仅有责任寻找知识,也有责任推进科研活动。这将有助于提高全球人民的健康和生活。作为资助方、监管者、商业组织、出版商、编辑、科研人员、科研用户及其他身份,我们致力于在为科研增加价值和减少浪费方面发挥自己的作用。

阅读更多关于论文、声明、活动、合作伙伴及定期更新的信息。


出版再现性论文

确保科研可再现,是朝着让科研变得可信赖,和向同行、资助方及公众证明科学可信任而迈出的一大步。这是我们为捍卫科学而必须要做的努力。尽管如此,再现性研究却很少发表,这可归因于:

  • 在某种程度上,此类科研缺乏“突破”,因此其作者基本上得不到认可,因为相关引用倾向于使用原创论文
  • 此外,有一种观念认为期刊及其编辑对再现性研究不感兴趣,尤其是确认先前结果的那些研究。

作为一家领先出版商,爱思唯尔努力帮助降低这种出版认知障碍。

  • 我们为促进再现性的科研提供基地:诸如Heliyon等期刊欢迎优质的再现性考察研究,而不论其结果如何。
  • 我们也已经整理汇集一系列聚焦于再现性的虚拟特刊:比如,其中一份特刊的主要内容是关于神经系统科学、神经学、心理学和精神病学的再现性研究,另一份则包含关于再现性重要性的文章。
  • 我们现在正努力创建一个专门针对再现性研究的新文章类型,这将很快在一系列期刊中推出。

作者署名和贡献者角色的透明度

随着科研的跨学科情况变得越来越多,作者的角色也在发展和变化。大型合作项目通常会有数百名贡献者参加,即使是对于较小型的科研工作,包含10-15人的作者名单也并不罕见。作者署名不仅是荣誉也是责任的标志,这种责任包括论文内容和其中数据的有效性两个方面。对于任何论文,被列为作者即表示对论文有重要贡献,且对论文的内容和出版表示同意。

CRediT分类法从一系列科研机构、出版商、资助机构、标准组织及其他方之间的协同努力而产生。此种新分类法旨在帮助明确哪些作者对论文有实际贡献,并对他们扮演的不同角色给出精确定义。此分类法及其实施也旨在让每位作者的工作得到更大认可,并减少作者署名纠纷。


世界科研诚信大会主办方

一直以来,作为世界科研诚信大会(WCRI)的主办方之一,爱思唯尔深感自豪。

  • 为配合WCRI 2017大会,我们还协办了一场关于“文本和图像处理在促进负责任科研实践中的角色”的会前研讨会。通过学术界和行业人士的报告,包括科研人员、开发人员和软件提供商等,该研讨会一直在探索当前和未来促进科学进步的技术应用。它重点讨论了文本挖掘和图像处理技术在此背景下可如何使用。

查看来自该研讨会的摘要

Research Integrity

Elsevier shares the research community’s goal to promote the integrity of research – from proper design methodology to ethical article submission, properly reviewed publication, and making research data available for re-use. In the below we briefly list the many initiatives that we undertake to translate this vision into actual steps.

Information, education, and training

The integrity of research is frequently addressed in education and training sessions by research institutions. Elsevier also provides such training, especially in the context of writing and publishing research articles.

Authors:

Online lectures and interactive courses on a variety of topics, including authorship, plagiarism, and conflict of interest.

  • Online lectures are presented by leading experts who engage in a Q&A afterwards to boost the discussion.
  • Interactive training courses guide attendees through a topic and test their knowledge along the way.

Visit the Elsevier Publishing Campus

Editors:

New editors frequently need guidance when they encounter their first research integrity issues, but also established editors like to be supported in their handling of research integrity allegations.


Re-using research data

Research data are the foundation on which scientific and medical knowledge is built. With the increased digitization of research there are new possibilities to store and preserve research data. Capturing research results in digital form has many advantages:

  • improves access, re-use, and reproducibility,
  • reduces costs,
  • saves resources,
  • facilitates discovery,
  • fosters multidisciplinary research,
  • promotes the integrity of the research being published.

At Elsevier, we believe there are 10 aspects to making research data effective – they can function as a roadmap for the development of better data management processes and systems throughout the research and research data lifecycles. These aspects include preservation, accessibility, citation, reproduction and re-use. With these characteristics in mind, we contribute to data initiatives like Force11, Scholix, and the Research Data Alliance (RDA).

As a publisher and information analytics provider, Elsevier creates digital products and platforms that embed research data in the research workflow to make them accessible, discoverable, and reusable – and ultimately to support the integrity of the research being published.

All these tools below are seamlessly integrated with one another to avoid double work. All tools have open API’s to allow for local integrations as well.

  • Mendeley Data offers a data repository where researchers can store, collaborate, find, share, and expose their research data
  • Research Elements provides a collection of peer reviewed open access journals that make data, software, materials, and methods available for further discovery, reuse, and citation
  • The electronic lab notebook Hivebench helps researchers, annotate, share, and retrieve their experiments and methods better in a lab situation.

Find a list all our data initiatives


Plagiarism and image manipulation

One of the more common violations of research integrity is plagiarism.

  • To detect plagiarism before publication, the STM publishing community came together to develop Crossref Similarity Check (previously called CrossCheck), a service that helps editors verify a paper’s originality. Elsevier contributed over 10 million articles and more than 7,000 books to this service, and is using it to check each submitted manuscript with over 50 million scholarly content items that have been previously published.

More recently, an increasing number of research integrity problems are related to image duplication or inappropriate image manipulation. Such instances are occasionally found by sharp-eyed reviewers or editors, but a systematic process is needed to consistently identify potential problems.

  • Some of our journals already pass submitted images through a manual image screening process, but bringing such screening to all submissions will require a semi-automated process.
  • Elsevier is active in this area, running pilots and sponsoring research in software development – for example, in partnership with Humboldt-Universit├Ąt zu Berlin, we have formed the Humboldt-Elsevier Advanced Data & Text (HEADT) Centre to investigate issues related to the integrity of research.

Structured and transparent reporting

For many years, the integrity of health and medical research and its reporting has been improved by requiring the adherence to reporting guidelines like CONSORT. In other disciplines, such standards are not readily available, though many agree that they could be very useful.

  • To that end, the Elsevier journal Biochemical Pharmacology introduced an author checklist to ensure that proper research procedures are followed and reported.
  • Cell Press has rolled out STAR Methods to most of its journals. STAR Methods are methods that provide Structured, Transparent, Accessible Reporting. They promote rigor and robustness with an intuitive, consistent framework that integrates seamlessly into the scientific information flow — making reporting easier for the author and replication easier for the reader. When Cell began publishing papers with STAR Methods last year, the response was very positive.
    As one researcher wrote:

I truly believe that this measure will help to make science more reproducible.


Preregistration and Registered Reports

A key element of proper research is not letting the execution of a research protocol, and the collection or analyses of data, be influenced along the way. Preregistration of the research methodology is a way to enhance the transparency and reproducibility of science by reviewing study protocols before experiments are conducted.

Cortex journal offers Registered Reports

In 2013, the Elsevier journal Cortex became one of the first journals to offer Registered Reports – an empirical article type designed to eliminate publication bias and incentivize best scientific practice. In contrast to conventional publishing, Cortex and our other journals with Registered Reports provisionally accept an article based on a previously submitted study protocol that is considered methodologically sound and addresses an important scientific question. Armed with this provisional acceptance of their work, authors can perform the research in the knowledge that the results themselves will not determine the article's publication. At the same time, readers of the final paper can feel more confident that the work is reproducible because the initial study predictions and analysis plans were independently reviewed.

View an example of a recent Registered Report


The Lancet REWARD Campaign

Every year, about a third of a trillion dollars (USD) is spent on biomedical research across the world. But there is evidence showing that parts of this investment is wasted because of the ways in which research priorities are set, research is designed, conducted, and analysed, and research is regulated and managed; also the lack of publication of much research and the poor reporting of research that is published plays a part.

Following the publication of a four paper series in 2014 on how to increase value of and reduce waste in biomedical research, The Lancet launched the REWARD (REduce research Waste And Reward Diligence) Campaign calling all involved in biomedical research to critically examine the way they work to ensure that they make research as valuable and usable as possible .

The REWARD statement includes the following agreement:

We believe we have a responsibility not just to seek to advance knowledge, but also to advance the practice of research itself. This will contribute to improvement in the health and lives of all peoples, everywhere. As funders, regulators, commercial organisations, publishers, editors, researchers, research users and others – we commit to playing our part in increasing value and reducing waste in research.

Read more on the papers, the statement, the Campaign, its partners, and regular updates.


Publishing reproducibility papers

Making sure that research can be reproduced is a massive step towards making it trustworthy and showing peers, funders and the public that science can be trusted. This is what we must do to safeguard science. Nevertheless, replication studies are rarely published, which can be due to:

  • In part, the lack of a “breakthrough” in such a study, and thus the little recognition that its author(s) receive(s), as relevant citations tend to go to the original paper
  • Also a related perception that journals and their editors are not interested in replication studies, particularly those studies that confirm previous results.

As a leading publisher, Elsevier helps to lower this perceived barrier to publication.

  • We provide homes for research that promotes reproducibility: journals like Heliyon welcome good quality studies no matter what the result.
  • We have also put together a series of virtual special issues focusing on reproducibility: for instance, one of them features replication studies in neuroscience, neurology, psychology and psychiatry and another one with articles about the importance of reproducibility.
  • We’re now working on a new article type dedicated to replication studies, which will soon be available across a range of journals.

Transparency in authorship and contributor roles

As research becomes increasingly interdisciplinary, authorship roles are growing and changing. Large collaborative projects can often involve hundreds of contributors, and even for smaller research efforts an author list of 10-15 people is not unusual. Authorship is a mark of credit but also of responsibility – for both the content of the paper and the validity of the data within it. For any paper, inclusion as an author is an indication of meaningful contribution to the paper and agreement about its content and publication.

The CRediT taxonomy emerged from a collaborative effort between a range of research institutions, publishers, funding agencies, standard organizations, and others. The new taxonomy is designed to help clarify what authors actually contribute to a paper, and provides clear definitions for the different roles that they can play. The taxonomy and its implementation are also intended to provide greater recognition for the work of each author and reduce authorship disputes.


Sponsor of the World Conference on Research Integrity

Elsevier has been a proud sponsor of the World Conference on Research Integrity (WCRI).

View the abstracts from this workshop.