Scopus NASI Young Scientist Awards

The Scopus Young Scientist Awards were first launched by Elsevier in 2006. In 2009, India officially adopted the program within its scientific community through Elsevier's collaboration with NASI. The program honors young researchers who are building their careers in academic research, helping them gain recognition for their work.

Read more about this year's application process

The National Academy of Sciences, India

About the award

In its 7th year of inception, Nasi-Scopus young scientist award attracted more than 600 applications from multiple premier research institutions across the country. The selection of the winner involves both quantitative and qualitative measures. Scopus ( provides quantitative analysis of the work of the applicants and quality is judged by the esteemed subject experts from across the country.

As continuous efforts are being made towards taking these awards to higher levels, we would want to heartily thank all those who contributed to the success story of these awards, starting with the National Academy of Sciences, India for their continued support and association with the awards. We are extremely thankful to all the subject experts who have provided their invaluable time and expertise for the selections. But the real heroes of this event are the young scientist who took time out to apply for this recognition.

Latest winners

Winners of 2016

The Award Ceremony was held on 15th September 2016 in New Delhi.

Winners of 2016

Agricultural Category: Dr. Sachin Kumar, Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati

Biological Sciences Category: Dr. Amit Singh, Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru

Chemistry Category: Dr. Rajnish Kumar, Senior Scientist, CSIR National Chemical Laboratory, Pune

Earth, Oceanographic & Environmental Sciences Category: Dr. Vinayak Sinha, Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali

Engineering Category: Dr. Manav Bhatnagar, Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi

Mathematics Category: Dr. Jaydeb Sarkar, Associate Professor, Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore

Medicine Category: Dr. Biman B. Mandal, Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati

Physics Category: Dr. Sanjib Kumar Agarwalla, Reader-F, Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar

Social Sciences Category: Dr. Vishal Gupta, Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad


If you would like more information about the NASI-Scopus Young Scientist of the year award please get in touch with:

Manik Sethi
Customer Development Manager
Elsevier-Science and Technology