United Kingdom gb

Scopus Young Researcher UK Awards 2013


The Scopus Young Researcher UK Awards started in 2011 with the aim to recognise and reward the talent, knowledge and expertise of young researchers in the UK in a variety of disciplines.

This award was developed by Elsevier in association with the US-UK Fulbright Commission. Elsevier has hosted Scopus Young Researcher Awards around the world with various partner organisations since 1995, in a concerted effort to support the growth and development of research talent globally.

In November 2013 six early career researchers in a range of academic disciplines were honoured during the Award Ceremony in London. University executives, policy makers, senior researchers, Fulbright alumni and Elsevier top management were present at the ceremony recognising the outstanding achievements of the UK's early career researchers.

The award winners were researchers, who had published for the first time in 2010 or later and had an affiliation to an institution in the United Kingdom. They were assessed by a jury of former Fulbright Scholars based on publication and citation information provided by Scopus, Elsevier's abstract and citation database.

The Scopus Young Researcher UK Award 2013 winners are:

  • Medical Science: Corrie Macdonald-Wallis, University of Bristol
  • Biochemistry, Genetics & Molecular Biology: Stephen Montgomery, University College London
  • Physical Sciences: Martin Lavery, University of Glasgow
  • Social Sciences: Liam Clegg, University of York
  • Arts & Humanities: Jennifer Watling, University of Exeter
  • Environmental Science: Charles West, University of Plymouth

You can view videos of the winners below and hear their stories in their own words.

(If you would like to find out more about the 2011 award ceremony including a video looking back at the 2011 winners, visit its dedicated Award page).

The Institutional UK Award 2013:

  • The jury also selected the University of Exeter to receive a Scopus Fostering Great Research Institutional Award for its commitment to fostering excellence in young researchers.

The Scopus Young Researcher UK Award 2013 winners

Corrie Macdonald-Wallis

Medical Science Winner
University of Bristol

Stephen Montgomery

Biochemistry, Genetics & Molecular Biology Winner
University College London

Martin Lavery

Physical Sciences Winner
University of Glasgow

Liam Clegg

Social Sciences Winner
University of York

Jennifer Watling

Arts & Humanities Winner
University of Exeter

Charles West

Environmental Science Winner
University of Plymouth

The Jury Panel

The judges for the Scopus Young Researcher UK Award 2013 are listed below:

Arts & Humanities Emma Smith, University of Leicester
Chris Hunt, Queen's University Belfast
Sue Thornham, University of Sussex
Biochemistry/Genetics/Molecular Biology Peter Henderson, University of Leeds
Andrew Grace, University of Cambridge
Richard Perham, University of Cambridge
Environmental Science Robin Pakeman, McCawley Land Use Research Institute
Brian Austin, University of Stirling
Simon Jennings, Centre for the Environment Fisheries and Aquaculture Science
Medical Science Nigel Pyne, University of Strathclyde
Beth Psaila, Imperial College London
John Cockroft, Cardiff University
Physical Sciences Nigel Ray, University of Manchester
Evan Bieske, University of Melbourne
George Helffrich, University of Bristol
Social Sciences Jörn Dosch, University of Leeds
Peter Taylor-Gooby, University of Kent
Karin Wahl-Jorgensen, Cardiff School of Journalism

For more information, please get in touch:

Petra Ullrich
Regional Marketing Director
Elsevier A&G Markets
+31 (0)20 485 2231

Award partners

Fulbright Commission