The Scopus Young Researcher UK Award 2011 winners are:

  • Health & Medical Sciences: Lucy Asher, University of Nottingham
  • Biological Sciences: Laura Coates, University of Leeds
  • Environmental Science: Angela Druckman, University of Surrey
  • Physical Sciences: Farhan Feroz, University of Cambridge
  • Social Sciences: Saffron O' Neill, University of Melbourne / University of East Anglia
  • Humanities: Matt Grove, University of Liverpool
  • Engineering: Konstantinos Papadikis / Xi'an Jiatong - Liverpool University/University of Southampton
  • Mathematics: Mladen Savov, New College, University of Oxford

The Institutional UK Winners 2011:

  • The University of Manchester
  • The University of Oxford
  • The University of Southampton

The Scopus Young Researcher UK Award 2011 winners

The 2011 Scopus Young Researcher Awards. At a gala dinner at the Royal Society, Elsevier and the Fulbright Commission honoured eight young researchers in a range of academic disciplines with the 2011 Scopus Young Researcher Award. Candidates in health & medical sciences, biological sciences, environmental sciences, mathematics, physical sciences, engineering, social sciences, and humanities were eligible for consideration if they published for the first time in 2008 or more recently.


Shortlisting for the Scopus Young Researcher Award begins with publications. Candidates meeting the criteria are then assessed by a subject specific jury and confirmed by the lead jury. To be shortlisted for the Scopus Young Researcher Award, the researcher must have: 

  • begun publishing work in 2008 or more recently
  • a current affiliation to an institution in the United Kingdom
  • made demonstrable impact in their field (assessed through H index)
  • less than 100 co-authors (total). This criterion is applied because it is very difficult to assess the contribution of single researchers in projects with very large co-author groups.

The Jury Panel

We would like to thank the award jury for all their efforts in the 2011 Scopus Young Researcher Award selection process.  These jury members were selected based on their subject-area expertise and were asked to review the shortlisted candidates.  The jury is made up of former Fulbright Scholars, academic journal editors and other experts in the field.  The lead jury was asked to confirm winner selections based on aggregated scores per discipline and to choose the winners of the Fostering Young Researchers award.  This award was conferred based on the three institutions providing the highest number of candidates to the shortlist.

Chair:  Professor Michael Arthur, Provost and President of University College London, Fulbright Scholar
Lead Jurors: Paul Arthur Berkman, Head of the Arctic Ocean Geopolitics Prog., Scott Polar Research Instit., Fulbright Scholar, Kate Hampton MPP, Fulbright Scholar

Health and Medical SciencesPeter Brennan, Head of the Academic Dept of Surgery, University of Portsmouth
Michael Day, Professor of  Veterinary Pathology, University of Bristol
Alison Day, Senior Lecturer in Emergency Nursing, University of Coventry
Richard Horton, Editor-in-Chief, The Lancet
Michael Sharpe, Director of  Psychological Medical Research, University of Edinburgh
Biological SciencesKeith Blundy, CEO Cancer Research Technology, Fulbright Scholar
Dame Anne Dell, Professor Carbohydrate Biochem, Imperial College London
Alain Filloux, Director of the Centre for Molecular Microbiology & Infection, Imperial College London
Nigel Pyne, Professor Molecular Pharmacology, University of Strathclyde
Environmental ScienceBrian Austin, Professor of Aquiculture, University of Stirling
Simon Jennings, Professor of Environmental Sciences, University of East Anglia
Robin Pakeman, Professor, McCawley Land Use Research Institute
Timothy Sparks,  Professor of Conservation Science, University of Cambridge
MathematicsChristopher Baker, Professor of Mathematics, University of Chester
Mark Cross, Professor of Computational Modelling, Swansea University
Kenneth Falconer, Professor of Pure Mathematics,University of St. Andrews
Martin Mathieu, Professor of  Pure Mathematics Queen’s University Belfast
Physical SciencesSir William Gelletly, Professor of Physics, University of Surrey
Gerry Gilmor, Professor of Experimental Philosophy, Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge
Graham Hutchings, Director of the Cardiff Catalysis Institute, University of Cardiff
Ivan Parkin, Professor of Inorganic Chemistry, University College London
EngineeringRobert Critoph, Head of Sustainable Energy Engineering, University of Warwick
Netta Cohen, Professor of Complex Systems University of Leeds
William Gale, Professor of Aviation & Aerospace Engineering, University of Leeds
Barry Marsden, Professor of  Nuclear Graphite Technology, University of Manchester
Social SciencesJörn Dosch, Director of theDepartment of East Asian Studies, University of Leeds, Fulbright Scholar
Bronwen Manby, AfriMAP Fulbright Scholar
John Scott, Pro Vice-Chancellor Research, Professor of Sociology, University of Plymouth
Peter Taylor-Gooby, Professor of Social Policy, University of Kent
HumanitiesGlenn Fulcher, School of Education, University of Leicester
Chris Hunt, Reader in Palaeoecology / Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Archaeological Science, Queen's University Belfast
Linda Woodhead, Professor of Sociology of Religion, Lancaster University
Chris Woolgar, Professor of History, University of Southampton
Sue Thornham, Professor of Media and Film, University of Sussex

For more information, please get in touch:

Petra Ullrich
Regional Marketing Director
Elsevier A&G Markets
+31 (0)20 485 2231

Award partners

Fulbright Commission