Each year the Reaxys PhD Prize recognises and rewards the most innovative research produced by chemistry’s brightest stars, predominately in the area of synthetic chemistry.

As the leading international chemistry Prize for the young generation, the Prize offers an opportunity like no other in promoting ground-breaking research and building a rich network of future leaders within chemistry.

Submissions for the 2016 Reaxys PhD Prize are now closed, you can learn more and register your interest here.

Carefully reviewed by internationally renowned experts, 45 finalists are selected from the submissions. These finalists are invited to present posters describing their research at the Reaxys PhD Prize Symposium. They are also invited to become lifelong members of the PhD Prize Club- an exclusive community of chemists. 10 are then chosen to present their work in the oral symposium.

The 3 winners are selected from these oral presentations. The winners will have managed to display another crucial skill required from today’s researchers – the ability to describe their research to a diverse audience in a succinct and timely manner. The winners are each awarded with $2,000 prize money.

The Reaxys PhD Prize is the world’s most important prize for Chemistry PhD students. To date, over 2500 applications have been received from well over 400 universities from across the globe.

What are the review and selection criteria?

  • Originality, innovation
  • Importance to the field
  • Applicability
  • Rigor of the approach and methodology
  • Publication quality and clarity of the article
  • Evidence of systematic and relevant background research of the literature
  • Supporting evidence (i.e. letter of recommendation and publication list)

Who are the judges?

The review and decision process is managed by six coordinators:

2015 PhD Prize Winners

The presentations were all of the highest quality. The shortlisted finalists were challenged to discuss the key aspects of their research in a crisp and critical manner. The panel of experts were impressed at the level of communication skill each of these young scientists already possesses. A cheque for $2000 was presented to each of the three winners, and they joined a list of illustrious previous winners, in the Reaxys Prize Club.

Andrew Jupp

  • Goicoechea group, University of Oxford
  • Presentation Title: Reactivity of the 2-phosphaethynolate anion and phosphinecarboxamide
  • Scopus Profile

Reaxys John Tellis

John Tellis

  • Molander group, University of Pennsylvania
  • Presentation Title: Single-Electron Transmetalation: Enabling C(sp3) Cross-Coupling via Photoredox/Nickel Dual Catalysis
  • Scopus Profile

Shinnosuke Uno

  • Urano group, University of Tokyo
  • Presentation Title: A spontaneously blinking fluorophore based on intramolecular spirocyclization for live-cell super-resolution imaging
  • Scopus Profile