Global Award

Introducing the award

In 1996 the Journal of Complexity instituted an annual Best Paper Award to highlight outstanding research in the field.

The prize consists of three thousand dollars ($3,000) and a plaque.

View the latest news

Journal of complexity



Thomas Müller-Gronbach, Klaus Ritter, Larisa Yaroslavtseva

2012 Winners:

Two papers were chosen as co-winners.
Committee: Mikhail Lifshits and Art Owen.

Co-Winner: Dmitriy Bilyk, V.N. Temlyakov, Rui Yu
Title: Fibonacci sets and symmetrization in discrepancy theory
Publication: February 2012

Dmitriy Bilyk
V.N. Temlyakov
Rui Yu

Co-Winners: Lutz Kämmerer, Stefan Kunis, Daniel Potts
Title: Interpolation lattices for hyperbolic cross trigonometric polynomials
Publication: February 2012

Stefan Kunis
Daniel Potts

Previous winners of the award


In 1996 the Journal of Complexity instituted an annual Best Paper Award to celebrate outstanding research. Each year a two person selection committee is chosen by the Editor-in-Chief and the senior Editors (Currently Erich Novak, Ian Sloan, Joseph Traub (EIC), and Henryk Wozniakowski).

A list of all the committees and the chosen papers and authors may be found on the Journal's homepage.

Application Process

A selection committee, which changes annually, choses the best paper out of all of the papers published in a given year in the Journal of Complexity. Every author who has a paper published in the journal is a candidate for the award in a given year.

For information on submitting a paper -

Award and Ceremony

A prize of three thousand dollars ($3,000) and a plaque is awarded to winning author/s. If a best paper has multiple authors, or more than one winning paper is chosen, the prize money is divided and each author receives a plaque.

Each year the names of the winners are published in the Journal. The award is presented at an appropriate conference/workshop in the field each year.