Global Award

Introducing the award


2014 Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids Recipient(s):

Naomi Halas, Rice University

Peter Nordlander, Rice University

Tony Heinz, Columbia University

Past Winners

Past Recipients:

Past Recipients:
2012:  Dmitri Basov
2010:  Duncan Steel
2008:  Joseph Orenstein
Zeev Valentine Vardeny
2006:  Roberto Merlin
2004:  James Wolfe
2002:  James W. Allen
Thomas Timusk
2000:  Paul Linford Richards
1998:  Yuen-Ron Shen
1996:  David E. Aspnes
1994:  Anant K. Ramdas
1992:  Paul A. Fleury
1990:  Miles V. Klein
1988:  Albert J. Sievers
1986:  Elias Burstein
1984:  Manuel Cardona
1982:  Jan Tauc
1980:  David L. Dexter


Establishment & Support: This prize is supported by contributions from the Division of Nuclear Physics and friends and family of Herman Feshbach to honor him for his numerous contributions to Theoretical Physics. Major sponsors include Andrea Feshbach, Brookhaven Science Associates, Elsevier, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Michigan State University, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Southeastern Universities Research Association, and the Lourie Foundation.

Application Process

Criteria & selection process: The award recognizes and encourages outstanding research in theoretical nuclear physics.

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

The deadline for submission of nominations for the 2015 prize is July 1, 2014. The nomination package must include:
A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).
In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

There may additional requirements for particular prizes and awards. Please read the rules carefully.
All files should be uploaded in PDF format. Letters can be signed electronically (for example, using an embedded facsimile) or physically. In the latter case, they should be digitally scanned. Filenames should include the name of the nominee.

Submit a Nomination

For updating an existing nomination, please click the link above and log into the form using the email address and password you used to create your nominator account.

  • Selection Committee Members: Wick Haxton, Chair; Gordon Baym

Award and Ceremony

Nominations would be open to physicists whose work in nuclear physics is primarily theoretical. There are no time limitations on the work described in the citation. The prize shall be awarded to one person, or may be shared by up to and including three persons when all the recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. Nominations would be active for three award cycles.

Award amount: The prize should consist of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient