Frank Isakson Prize

This award recognizes outstanding optical research that leads to breakthroughs in the condensed matter sciences. The prize is awarded biennially in even-numbered years as a memorial to Frank Isakson. Supported by the journal Solid State Communications.

The prize was established in 1979 and supported by the Photoconductivity Conference. Starting in 1994, the prize was supported by Solid State Communications (Elsevier).

Solid State Communications


Visit the journal home page to discover the list of winners

Application process

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations are open to scientists of all nations regardless of the geographical site at which the work was done. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person, but the prize may be shared among recipients when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. Preference will be given to work that has been published within the past 10 years. Nominations are active for three years.

Nomination & Selection Process

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

This year’s deadline has passed. Please check back soon for next year’s nomination information and deadline.