United Kingdom gb

Early Career Researcher UK Awards 2015

Early Researcher UK Awards


Since 1995, Elsevier has hosted Early Career Researcher Awards with partner organisations around the world.

The Early Career Researcher Awards recognise and reward outstanding young research talent making a significant contribution to their field of research and thus having a positive effect on society. Elsevier believes in the vital importance of supporting researchers at an early stage in their career and wants to recognise the institutions that foster them.

The Early Career Researcher UK Awards comprises two separate awards programmes:

  • Scopus Young Researcher UK Awards
  • Researchers’ Choice Communication Award (new in 2015)

The Award Ceremony took place on the 5th of November, 2015, at the Royal Society in London. Senior Government and Academic Advisers, Funding Council Management, University executives, policy makers, senior researchers, Fulbright alumni and Elsevier senior management were present at the ceremony recognising the outstanding achievements of the UK’s early career researchers.

Young Researcher UK Awards 2015

Scopus Young Researcher UK Awards

Elsevier has hosted Early Career Researcher Awards around the world with various partner organisations since 1995 in a concerted effort to support the growth and development of research talent globally. In the UK Elsevier has partnered with the US-UK Fulbright Commission for this biennial event in 2011, 2013 and now again in 2015.

Six bright young scientists were awarded in six different science categories: Arts and Humanities, Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Environmental Science, Medicine, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences.

The winners were chosen by an expert panel of judges (see the list of jury members further down) and announced before an audience of distinguished guests at the awards ceremony. Each winner has received a grant of £1,500.

Winners of the Scopus Young Researcher UK Awards 2015

Dr Michael Booth

University of Oxford
Biochemistry, Genetics, Molecular Biology

Dr Chris Sweetapple

University of Exeter
Environmental Science

Dr Jack Alexander-Webber

University of Cambridge
Physical Sciences

Dr Sagar Jilka

Imperial College London
Arts & Humanities

Dr Katherine Battle

University of Oxford

Dr Jonathan Fisher

University of Birmingham
Social Sciences

Researchers' Choice Communication Award 2015

Researchers' Choice Communication Award

This UK award, being introduced in 2015, has been developed by Elsevier in association with the US-UK Fulbright Commission, whose partnership began in 2011.

The Researchers' Choice Communication Award recognises early career researchers who have demonstrably excelled in communicating the purpose, meaning and impact of their research to the wider public. The candidates were nominated by their colleagues and peers on the Mendeley academic social platform, and the winner was chosen from a shortlist by an expert panel of judges and announced before the audience of distinguished guests at the awards ceremony. He has also received a grant of £1,500.

The aim of this new award is to stimulate researchers at an early stage in their career to promote the science they are passionate about to the wider population, recognising that excellent communication skills are vital both to young researchers’ careers and to advancing public engagement with science.

The Short-listed Nominees

  • Francesca Day, University of Oxford
  • Matthew Allen, Cardiff University
  • Louise Biddle, University of East Anglia
  • Kate Baker, King's College London

Matthew Allen - Researchers Choice Communication Award

The Winner of the Researchers' Choice Communication Award 2015

  • Matthew Allen, Cardiff University

Research Specialization: Astrophysics

  • His YouTube Channel and website attracted significant media attention
  • Writes regularly in Astronomy magazine
  • Created two new apps that use astronomy data in a format compatible with Google Cardboard glasses

Criteria for Qualification for both awards:

  • Nominees have published for the first time in 2015 or more recently;
  • Nominees have an affiliation to an HE institution in the United Kingdom and are residents in the UK;
  • Nominees have less than 100 co-authors (in total). This criterion is applied because it is very difficult to assess the contribution of single researchers in projects with very large co-author groups.

The Jury Panel

The judges for the Scopus Young Researcher UK Awards 2015 are listed below:

Arts & HumanitiesEmma Smith, University of Leicester
Chris Hunt, Liverpool John Moores University
Jane Edwards, University of Limerick/Deakin University
Biochemistry/Genetics/Molecular BiologyPeter Henderson, University of Leeds
Andrew Grace, University of Cambridge
Ivana Barbaric, University of Sheffield
Environmental ScienceRobin Pakeman, McCawley Land Use Research Institute
Brian Austin, University of Stirling
Simon Jennings, Centre for the Environment Fisheries and Aquaculture Science
Medical ScienceNigel Pyne, University of Strathclyde
Beth Psaila, Imperial College London
Tim Thompson, Teeside University
Physical SciencesAlexander Korsunsky, University of Oxford
Evan Bieske, University of Melbourne
George Helffrich, University of Bristol
Social SciencesJörn Dosch, University of Rostock
Peter Taylor-Gooby, University of Kent
Karin Wahl-Jorgensen, Cardiff School of Journalism

The judges for the Researchers’ Choice Communication Award 2015 are listed below:

Tracey Brown, Director, Sense About Science
Amy Moore, Director, Fulbright Awards Programme, US-UK Fulbright Commission
Justin Mullins, Consultant Editor, New Scientist
Hannfried von Hindenburg, Senior Vice President Global Communications, Elsevier

Winners of 2011 and 2013

Jennifer Watling

2013 Award Winner
University of Exeter
Arts & Humanities

Dr Liam Clegg

2013 Award Winner
University of York
Social Sciences

Dr Stephen Montgomery

2013 Award Winner
University College London
Biochemistry, Genetics & Molecular Biology

Dr Angela Druckman

2011 Award Winner
University of Surrey
Environmental Sciences

Dr Matt Grove

2011 Award Winner
University of Liverpool

Get in touch

For more information, please get in touch:

Petra Ullrich
Regional Marketing Director
Elsevier A&G Markets
+31 (0)20 485 2231

Award partners

Fulbright Commission