Past Nano Today Conferences

7th Nano Today Conference

16 -18 November 2021 | Online Live and On Demand

2021 Speakers | 2021 Programme | Nano Today Award 2021

The 7th Nano Today Conference took place online as a live-streamed and interactive event on 16-18 November 2021.

6th Nano Today Conference

16-20 June 2019 | Altis Grand Hotel, Lisbon, Portugal

2019 Speakers | 2019 Programme | Nano Today Award 2019 |

More than 500 researchers gathered at the Altis Grand Hotel in Lisbon on June 16-20, 2019 for the 6th Nano Today Conference organized by the Nano Today journal, NanoBio Lab and Elsevier. Chaired by Nano Today Editor-in-Chief and A*STAR Senior Fellow Professor Jackie Y. Ying of NanoBio Lab, the biennial conference marked its debut in Europe in 2019 since it was first launched in Singapore in 2009.

Designed to showcase the latest research at the multidisciplinary frontier of nanostructured materials and devices, the 2019 conference featured plenary lectures by Professor Yi Cui (Stanford University), Professor Paul Weiss (University of California Los Angeles) and Professor Andrey Rogach (City University of Hong Kong).

On 17 June, Professor Yi Cui was presented with the Nano Today 2019 Award after his lecture in recognition of his seminal contributions to nanomaterials design for energy and environmental applications.


The next day, Professor Paul Weiss delivered the “Materials in Society” plenary lecture in honor of the pioneering scientist and nanotechnology expert, Professor Julia R. Weertman, who passed away earlier this year.

Over the four days, delegates also had the opportunity to listen to 30 invited talks by leading scientists from internationally renowned institutions, 102 contributed oral presentations and 338 poster presentations. The contributed presentations were selected from over 1,100 abstract submissions from 67 countries.

To encourage participation from more young researchers, 25 PhD students were selected from over 100 applicants to receive the Student Travel Awards. The students, who came from 15 countries, received a registration fee waiver to attend and present their research findings at the conference.

Among the 338 poster presenters, Dmitry Baranov (Italian Institute of Technology), Yongju Hong (Korea University), Linards Lapcinskis (Riga Technical University), Andriy Lotnyk (Leibniz Institute of Surface Engineering), Silvia Morena (IPF Dresden) and Felix Sauvage (Ghent University) emerged winners of the Best Poster Award and received € 200 and a certificate each.

Jackie Y. Ying, Editor-in-Chief, Nano Today
Noreena AbuBakar, Managing Editor, Nano Today

View the video from the 6th Nano Today Conference