International Brain Stimulation Award

Deadline: 1 March 2021

The International Brain Stimulation Award was first given in 2017 at the Barcelona meeting. Professor Anthony T. Barker received this prestigious recognition for his pioneering work in developing transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS). Professor Mark Hallett received this award in 2019 for his seminal contributions to our understanding of the neurophysiological effects of TMS.

The International Brain Stimulation Award acknowledges outstanding contributions to the field of brain stimulation.  These contributions can be in basic, translational, and/or clinical aspects of neuromodulation, and have had a profound influence in shaping the field. Any one in our field can nominate a candidate for this award.  The nominees will be considered by the Senior Editors and Deputy Editors of Brain Stimulation: Basic, Translational, and Clinical Research in Neuromodulation. None of the current senior or deputy editors can themselves be considered for this award. This award comes with a monetary prize and a memorial sculpture.


We invite the entire brain stimulation community to suggest candidates for this award. Please e-mail the award committee with your thoughts to, using the subject line ‘2021 International Brain Stimulation Award’. You can simply suggest a name, without any commentary or justification, or you can provide a justification.  Regardless, these nominations will be collated, counted, and shared with the award committee.  Your input is greatly appreciated and will likely influence the award selection.  At the 2019 Vancouver meeting, we received 66 nominations of 35 different individuals! The deadline for nominations is 1 June 2020. Please mention in your email that your nomination is for the 2021 International Brain Stimulation Award.

For all awards, recipients are selected by the Senior Editors and Deputy Editors of Brain Stimulation: Basic, Translational and Clinical Research in Neuromodulation, with consideration given to the diversity of the meeting. The financial aspects of these awards are supported by Elsevier Inc.