Skip to main content

Unfortunately we don't fully support your browser. If you have the option to, please upgrade to a newer version or use Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, or Safari 14 or newer. If you are unable to, and need support, please send us your feedback.

Publish with us
Branches of Middle Cerebral Artery (Left)
Cardiovascular System

Branches of Middle Cerebral Artery (Left)

Rami arteriae cerebri mediae

Read more


The middle cerebral artery (aka Sylvian artery) is the larger of the two terminal branches of the internal carotid artery, the other being the anterior cerebral artery. It is the direct continuation of the internal carotid artery.

From its origin, the middle cerebral artery travels laterally to the lateral sulcus (aka Sylvian fissure). This part of the middle cerebral artery is known as the sphenoid part, and it gives off the polar temporal artery, as well as proximal and distal lateral striate branches.

Upon reaching the lateral sulcus the middle cerebral artery ends by dividing into its superior and inferior terminal branches. Both of these branches travel posterosuperiorly along the lateral sulcus, giving off branches along their way.

Overall, the middle cerebral artery and its branches provide an arterial supply to the temporal, frontal and parietal lobes, especially on their lateral surfaces.

Complete Anatomy
The world's most advanced 3D anatomy platform
Try it for Free

Learn more about this topic from other Elsevier products

Middle Cerebral Artery

ScienceDirect image

The middle cerebral arteries (MCA) pass laterally into the sylvian fissure, where they turn posteriorly to pass in the fissure superiorly towards the parietal region.

Explore on ScienceDirect(opens in new tab/window)

Complete Anatomy

The world's most advanced 3D anatomy platform

Complete Anatomy