Skip to main content

Unfortunately we don't fully support your browser. If you have the option to, please upgrade to a newer version or use Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, or Safari 14 or newer. If you are unable to, and need support, please send us your feedback.

Publish with us

Committee & Speakers

Winner of the 2024 JCIS Darsh Wasan Award

Steve Armes, University of Sheffield, UK

Talk: Designing Synthetic Mimics for Cosmic Dust Particles: From Colloid Chemistry to Space Science via Hypervelocity Physics

Steve graduated from Bristol University (BSc 1983, PhD 1987). He worked as a postdoctoral fellow at Los Alamos National Laboratory from 1987 to 1989 before accepting a lectureship at Sussex University. He was promoted to Professor in 2000 and moved to Sheffield University in 2004.

Steve has published 727 papers (H-index 128). His interests include polymerisation-induced self-assembly, water-soluble polymers, block copolymer self-assembly, Pickering (nano)emulsions, gels, foams, colloidal nanocomposites, polymer brushes, and designing synthetic mimics for cosmic dust.

He has received six RSC medals and a Royal Society medal. He was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2014.


Plenary Speakers

Shlomo MagdassI


Shlomo Magdassi

Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

Read more about Shlomo Magdassi
Monica Olvera de la Cruz


Monica Olvera de la Cruz

Northwestern University, USA

Read more about Monica Olvera de la Cruz
Amy Shen


Amy Shen


Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan

Read more about Amy Shen
Patrick Spicer


Patrick Spicer

University of New South Wales, Australia

Read more about Patrick Spicer
Regine von Klitzing


Regine von Klitzing

TU Darmstadt, Germany

Read more about Regine von Klitzing

Keynote Speakers

Patricia Bassereau


Patricia Bassereau

Institut Curie, France

Read more about Patricia Bassereau
Mikhael Bechelany


Mikhael Bechelany

University of Montpellier, France

Read more about Mikhael Bechelany
Ludmilla Boinovich


Ludmilla Boinovich

A.N. Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry, Russia

Read more about Ludmilla Boinovich
Elodie Bourgeat-Lami


Elodie Bourgeat-Lami

École Supérieure de Chimie Physique Électronique de Lyon, France

Read more about Elodie Bourgeat-Lami
Karen Edler


Karen Edler

University of Lund, Sweden

Read more about Karen Edler
Yujun Feng


Yujun Feng

Sichuan University, China

Read more about Yujun Feng
Gil Garnier


Gil Garnier

Monash University, Australia

Read more about Gil Garnier
Boris Kitchatov


Boris Kitchatov

Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia

Read more about Boris Kitchatov
Sepideh Razavi


Sepideh Razavi

University of Oklahoma, USA

Read more about Sepideh Razavi
Meital Reches


Meital Reches

Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

Read more about Meital Reches
Jing-Jong Shyue


Jing-Jong Shyue

Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Read more about Jing-Jong Shyue
Radomir Slavchov


Radomir Slavchov

Queen Mary University of London, UK

Read more about Radomir Slavchov
Cosima Stubenrauch


Cosima Stubenrauch

University of Stuttgart, Germany

Read more about Cosima Stubenrauch
Thomas Zemb


Thomas Zemb

Institut de Chimie Séparative de Marcoule, France

Read more about Thomas Zemb





Julian Eastoe

University of Bristol, UK


Debora Berti


Debora Berti

University of Florence, Italy

Martin Malmsten


Martin Malmsten

University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Scientific Committee

Teresa J. Bandosz, City University of New York, USA

David Beattie, University of South Australia, Australia

Mikhael Bechelany, European Membrane Institute, France

Debora Berti, University of Florence, Italy

Romain Bordes, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Wuge H. Briscoe, University of Bristol, UK

J.Paul Chen, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Dganit Danino, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

Raz Jelinek, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

Marie Pierre Krafft, University of Strasbourg, France

Junbai Li, Institute of Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Manuel Arturo López-Quintela, University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain

Gao-Qing L,u University of Surrey, UK

Yan Lu Helmholtz, Center Berlin for Materials and Energy, Germany

Elena Mileva, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria

Alyssa Panitch, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Kevin Roger, French National Centre for Scientific Research, France

Jing-Jong Shyue, Research Center for Applied Sciences Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Robert Tilton, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

Shaobin Wang, University of Adelaide, Australia

Catherine Whitby, Massey University, New Zealand

Hongbo Zeng, University of Alberta, Canada

Gengfeng Zheng, Fudan University, China