28th Anniversary World Congress on Biosensors


The Biosensors & Bioelectronics Prize of US$1000 plus a free registration to the 2020 Congress is sponsored by Elsevier and is presented to the author of the paper judged the most original contribution to the congress. A pre-selection has been carried out based on submitted abstracts and the finalists have been allocated Keynote talks.

In addition, a number of Poster Awards are given: three First Place awards of US$350 will be awarded by Biosensors & Bioelectronics / Elsevier to the best poster from each session. Six further runner-up and second runner-up awards will be given supported by the ACS and US National Science Foundation.

Biosensors & Bioelectronics Award

2016 Winner

Towards single molecule biosensors using super-resolution fluorescence microscopy
Xun Lu; Philip R Nicovich; Katharina Gaus; J. Justin Gooding

2016 Runner-up

Surface plasmon resonance as a tool for investigation of non-covalent nanoparticle interactions in heterogenous self-assembly & disassembly systems
Konstantin G Shevchenko; Vladimir R Cherkasov; Andrey A Tregubov; Petr I Nikitin; Maxim P Nikitin

2014 Winner

Pei-Rong Wanga, Xu Zhanga, Yao-Gen Shubb, Jia-Chang Yuea, aInstitute of Biophysics, Chinese Academy Sciences, Beijing, P.R. China, bInstitute of Theoretical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, P.R. China

2014 Runners Up

Michael Thompson,a,b,* Christophe Blaszykowski,b Sonia Sheikha and Alexander Romaschinc aUniversity of Toronto, Canada, b Econous Systems Inc., Toronto, Canada
cSt. Michael’s Hospital, Toronto, Canada

Yanyan Wang and Liang Tang, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA

M Kühnemunda and M Nilssonb  aUppsala University, Sweden bStockholm University, Sweden

Poster Awards

An award is given to the best poster from each session.

2014 Poster Award Winners

Poster Session 1
Non-contact single cell printing for single cell real-time PCR
F. Stumpf*2, J. Schöndube1, A. Gross1, G. Roth2, 3, R. Zengerle1, 2, P. Koltay1, 4,  1IMTEK, Germany, 2HSG-IMIT, Germany, 3BIOSS, Germany, 4BioFluidix GmbH, Germany

Poster Session 2
Towards a smartphone-connected HIV test
V. Turbe*1, E. Gray1, D. Athey2, H. Yatsuda2, 3, E. Nastouli1, R. McKendry1,  1University College London, UK, 2OJ Bio Ltd, UK, 3Japan Radio Company, Japan

Poster Session 3
An SPR NanoMIP sensor for viruses analysis 
Z. Altintas, M. Gittens, K.A. Thompson, A. Guerreiro, S. Piletsky, I.E. Tothill*, Cranfield University, UK

A rapid protein preconcentration monitoring without fluorescent labeling by the dual-loop current measurement method
P.S. Chung*, Y.J. Fan, H.J. Sheen, W.C. Tian, National Taiwan University, Taiwan