Biosensors 2020 is organised and sponsored by Elsevier / Biosensors & Bioelectronics

Conference deadlines

Abstract submission deadline : 13 November 2019

Author notification deadline: 22 January 2020

Author registration deadline:  21 February 2020


Executive Chair

Anthony P F Turner

Cranfield University, UK

Professor Anthony (Tony) Turner’s name is synonymous with the field of Biosensors. His thirty-five-year academic career in the UK culminated in the positions of Principal of Cranfield University at Silsoe and Distinguished Professor of Biotechnology; since 2010 he has been an Emeritus Professor at Cranfield.

View full bio

Asian Congress Chair

Man Bock Gu

Korea University, Korea

Dr. Man Bock Gu is a professor, the department chair, and the director of BK21 PLUS School of Life Sciences and Biotechnology in the Department of Biotechnology at Korea University, Seoul, Rep. of Korea. He received his Ph.D. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Colorado at Boulder, Colorado, USA in 1994, and completed his postdoctoral studies in Chemical Engineering at the University of Delaware, USA in 1995.

View full bio

Organising Committee

Frances Ligler

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and North Carolina State University, USA

Frances S. Ligler is the Lampe Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering in the Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering at NC State University and UNC-Chapel Hill and an elected member and Councillor of the National Academy of Engineering. Before 2013, she was the Senior Scientist for Biosensors and Biomaterials at the US Naval Research Laboratory.

View full bio

Professor Loïc J. Blum

Université Lyon 1, France

Loïc J. Blum received the Doctorat de spécialité (1983) in Biochemistry and the Doctorat d’Etat ès Sciences (1991) from the université Lyon 1.

View full bio

Justin Gooding

Justin Gooding, University of New South Wales, Australia

Scientia Professor Justin Gooding is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science and is currently an ARC Australian Laureate Fellow and the co-director of the Australian Centre for NanoMedicine.

View full bio

Arben Merkoci

Catalan Institute of Nanotechnology, Spain

Arben Merkoçi is currently ICREA Professor and director of the Nanobioelectronics & Biosensors Group at Institut Català de Nanociencia i Nanotecnologia (ICN2).

View full bio

Aydogan Ozcan

University of California, Los Angeles, USA

Dr. Ozcan is the Chancellor’s Professor at UCLA and an HHMI Professor with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute, leading the Bio- and Nano-Photonics Laboratory at UCLA School of Engineering and is also the Associate Director of the California NanoSystems Institute.

View full bio

Koji Sode

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and North Carolina State University, USA

Dr. Koji Sode is a Professor of Biomedical Engineering, William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor in the Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and North Carolina State University. He is also served as the Adjunct Professor at Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology, Japan.

View full bio

Xian-En Zhang

Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Professor Xian-En Zhang received his B.Sc. (Biology) from Hubei University in 1982, M.Phil. (Microbiology) and Ph.D. (Biochemistry) later from the Institute of Virology and the Institute of Microbiology, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), respectively. In 2015, he received an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science from the University of Alberta, Canada.

View full bio

Local Advisory Committee

Hak-Sung Kim, KAIST, Korea
Tai Hyun Park, Seoul National University, Korea
Jeong Woo Choi, Sogang University, Korea
Jongae Park, Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, Korea

Local Organizing Committee

Sang Jun Sim, Korea University, Korea
Hyun Gyu Park, KAIST, Korea
Hyun Chul Yoon, Ajou University, Korea