Featured speakers symposium C: Functional porous materials

Featured speakers

Thomas Bein

Ludwig-Max-University, Germany

Thomas Bein received his PhD in Chemistry from the University of Hamburg (Germany) and the Catholic University Leuven (Belgium) in 1984. He continued his studies as Visiting Scientist at the DuPont Central Research and Development Department in Wilmington, DE (USA).

View full bio

Mohamed Eddaoudi

KAUST, Saudi Arabia

View full bio

Lin Emsley

EPFL, Switzerland

View full bio

Susumu Kitagawa

Kyoto University, Japan

Susumu Kitagawa received his Ph. D. at Kyoto University in 1979. He is now Director of Institute for Integrated Cell-Material Sciences (iCeMS) at Kyoto University.

View full bio

Kazuyuki Kuroda

Waseda University, Japan

Kazuyuki Kuroda received his doctorate degree in Applied Chemistry from Waseda University in 1979. He has been a full professor since 1989 at the same university. His carrier includes presidents of Japan Association of Zeolite, Japanese Sol-Gel Society, and Clay Science Society of Japan, and vice-presidents of the Ceramic Society of Japan and the Chemical Society of Japan.

View full bio

Jeffrey R Long


Jeffrey R. Long is a Professor of Chemistry and Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley and a Senior Faculty Scientist in the Materials Sciences Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.

View full bio

Christian Serre

ENS, CNRS, France

Christian Serre is a CNRS Research Director. Previously at Institut Lavoisier de Versailles, he created in 2016 a new research Institute dedicated to the Porous Materials, at the interface between CNRS, the Ecole Normale Supérieure (ENS) and the Physics and Chemistry Engineer School of Paris (ESPCI).

View full bio

Michael Silverstein

Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel

Professor Michael S. Silverstein holds the Sherman–Gilbert Chair in Energy at the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, and is the Chairman of the Technion's Interdepartmental Program in Polymer Engineering.

View full bio

María Vallet-Regí

Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain

María Vallet Regí, Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at UCM. Intelligent Biomaterials (GIBI) group leader. Main researcher CIBER-BBN and at Hospital 12 de Octubre Research Institute (i+12). Recognized as pioneer in the field of mesoporous ceramic materials with applications in biomedicine.

View full bio