Sixth International Conference on Multifunctional, Hybrid and Nanomaterials

Featured speakers symposium B: Functional hybrid nanomaterials, nanocomposites and their applications

Featured speakers

David Avnir

The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

David Avnir is a professor of chemistry at Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel, where he also got all his education. His current scientific activities include sol-gel materials, molecularly doped metals, chirality and symmetry in experiments and theory.

View full bio

C. Jeffrey Brinker

University of New Mexico, USA

Brinker received his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees in ceramic science and engineering at Rutgers University. He joined Sandia National Laboratories in 1979 where he is currently one of four Sandia National Laboratory Fellows (the highest technical position at Sandia).

View full bio

David Cahen

Weizmann Institute and Bar-Ilan University, Israel

David Cahen studied chemistry & physics at Hebrew Univ. of Jerusalem (HUJI), materials science & physical chemistry at Northwestern Univ., and, as PD, biophysics of photosynthesis at the Hebrew University and Weizmann Inst. of Science.

View full bio

Eugenio Coronado

University of Valencia, Spain

Eugenio Coronado is the Director of the Molecular Science Institute (ICMol) at the University of Valencia and the European Institute of Molecular Magnetism (EIMM).

View full bio

Ovidiu Ersen

University of Strasbourg, France

Ovidiu Ersen, 44 years old, is a Full Professor at the University of Strasbourg and Institute of Physics and Chemistry of Materials of Strasbourg (IPCMS) and is affiliated at present to IUF (Institut Universitaire de France). He received the award ‘Fondation University Strasbourg – Cercle Gutenberg’ in 2012 and became USIAS fellow at the University of Strasbourg.

View full bio

Andrea Ferrari

University of Cambridge, UK

View full bio

Richard Kaner


Richard Kaner received a Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania in 1984 working with Prof. Alan MacDiarmid (Nobel Laureate 2000, deceased). After postdoctoral research at Berkeley, he joined the Univerisity of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) in 1987, earned tenure in 1991, became a Distinguished Professor in 2012 and was appointed to the Dr. Myung Ki Hong Endowed Chair in Materials Innovation in 2017.

View full bio

João Rocha

University of Aveiro, Portugal

Since 1999, Professor at the Department of Chemistry, University of Aveiro, Portugal, and Director of CICECO-Aveiro Institute of Materials. Ph.D. in 1991 from the Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge, followed by a one-year post-doc in the same department. He has published ca. 500 research papers and 4 patents, which have received ca. 16,000 citations.

View full bio

Paolo Samori

University of Strasbourg, France

Paolo Samorì is Distinguished Professor at the Université de Strasbourg and Director of the Institut de Science et d'Ingénierie Supramoléculaires. He is Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences (EURASC), Member of the Academia Europaea, Junior Member of the Institut Universitaire de France (IUF) and foreign member della Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium for Sciences and Art.

View full bio

Patrice Simon

Universite Paul Sabatier, France

View full bio

Francesco Stellacci

École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland

Francesco Stellacci got his degree in Materials Engineering at the Politecnico di Milano in 1998 with Prof. Zerbi. He then moved as a post-doc with Prof. J.W. Perry in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Arizona. In 2002 he became as assistant professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at MIT (Cambridge, USA). There he became associate professor with tenure in 2009. In 2010, he moved as a full professor to EPFL where he holds the Constellium chair.

View full bio

Bao-Lian Su

University of Namur, Belgium

Dr. Su of the University Pierre and Marie Curie, France in 1992, Member of the European Academy of Sciences, Member of the Royal Academy of Belgium, Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and Clare Hall Life Member, University of Cambridge, Prof. Su held “Belgian Francqui Chaire”.

View full bio