2018 Conference Speakers

Friedrich Barth

Managing Director, International Sustainable Chemistry Collaborative Center ISC3, Germany

His mission for ISC3: We shape transformation!

Friedrich Barth is the Managing Director of the International Sustainable Chemistry Collaborative Center ISC3 in Bonn.

View full bio

Peter Fantke

Technical University of Denmark, Denmark

Peter Fantke is Associate Professor for Quantitative Sustainability Assessment, at the Technical University of Demark and Managing Director of the USEtox International Centre, which develops global scientific consensus models for characterizing toxicity of chemical emissions.

View full bio

Jonathan Forman

Science Policy Adviser, Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW)

Jonathan Forman currently holds the post of Science Policy Adviser at the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW), also serving as the Secretary to OPCW’s Scientific Advisory Board.

View full bio

Johannes Förster

Project Manager, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH

He currently works in a project strengthening local qualification structures in Bangladesh and China on chemical management in the textiles industry. Next to qualification of local trainers and cooperation with universities the projects cooperates with private business partners to connect local training structures to international brand and initiatives.

View full bio

Sascha Gabizon

Executive Director, WECF - Women Engage for a Common Future, The Netherlands

Visit website

Michael Graetzel

Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland

Professor of Physical Chemistry at the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Michael Graetzel directs the Laboratory of Photonics and Interfaces.
He pioneered research in the field of energy and electron transfer reactions in mesoscopic systems and their use in energy conversion systems, in particular photovoltaic cells and photo-electrochemical devices for the splitting of water into hydrogen and oxygen and the reduction of carbon dioxide by sunlight as well as the storage of electric power in lithium ion batteries.

View full bio

Roel van de Krol

Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie, Germany

Topic: Energy Conversion and Storage

Visit website

Thisbe Lindhorst

Vice President, German Chemical Society, University of Kiel, Germany

Thisbe Lindhorst studied chemistry at the Universities of München and Münster. She obtained her doctorate with Prof. J. Thiem at the University of Hamburg and performed a postdoctoral training with Prof. S. G. Withers at UBC (Vancouver, Canada).

View full bio

Jian Liu

University of Surrey, UK

Topic: Photochemistry and Photocatalysis
Dr. Jian Liu is currently a Reader in Department of Chemical and Process Engineering, University of Surrey, UK. He obtained his Ph.D. degree in Physical Chemistry from the Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Science, China, in 2008, to study inorganic materials chemistry and catalysis. He then joined AIBN, UQ as a research fellow for four years, worked as a Lecturer, then Senior Lecturer in Curtin University, Australia for another four years.

View full bio

Rafael Luque

Nanoscale Chemistry and Biomass/Waste Valorisation Group, University of Cordoba, Spain

Topic: Biomass and Valorization of Organic Waste
Rafael Luque (Ph.D 2005 from Universidad de Cordoba, Spain) has a significant experience on biomass and waste valorisation practises to materials, fuels and chemicals as well as nanoscale chemistry (350+ publications, h-index 57, 4 patent applications, 10 edited books) as well as numerous contributions to book chapters and invited, guest, keynote and plenary lectures in scientific events worldwide.

View full bio

Audrey Moores

Department of Chemistry, McGill University, Canada

Topic: Synthesis and Catalysis

View full bio

Benoît Roig

University of Nimes, France

Topic: Sustainable Chemistry in Environmental Science and Pharmacy
Benoit Roig is professor in risk sciences at the University of Nîmes. After several years at French school of Public Health where he was responsible for the Biodiagnostic and Health Unit, he is currently head for the CHROME laboratory (EA7352) focused on the characterization and management of Chronic and Emerging Risks at the University of Nîmes.

View full bio

Christian Stevens

Head of Department of Sustainable Organic Chemistry and Technology, University of Gent, Belgium

Topic: Microreactors and Electrochemistry

Prof. Dr. ir. Christian V. Stevens (°1965) is currently senior full professor of the Department of Green Chemistry and Technology at the Faculty of Bioscience Engineering (Ghent University).

View full bio

Chris Slootweg

University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Topic: Mineral Resources and Recycling
Chris Slootweg was born in Haarlem, the Netherlands in 1978 and received his undergraduate education from Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam in 2001.

View full bio

John Warner

President & Chief Technology Officer, The Warner Babcock Institute for Green Chemistry LLC, USA

Topic: Start-ups and Sustainable Chemistry

John is the recipient of the 2014 Perkin Medal, widely acknowledged as the highest honor in American Industrial Chemistry, and was named a 2016 AAAS‐Lemelson Invention Ambassador. He received his BS in Chemistry from UMASS Boston, and his PhD in Chemistry from Princeton University. After working at the Polaroid Corporation for nearly a decade, he then served as tenured full professor at UMASS Boston and Lowell (Chemistry and Plastics Engineering).

View full bio