Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity

The Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry was established in 1980 by the Executive Board of Editors and the Publisher of Tetrahedron Publications. It is intended to honour the memory of the founding co-Chairmen of these publications, Professor Sir Robert Robinson and Professor Robert Burns Woodward.



The Tetrahedron Prize is awarded on an annual basis for creativity in Organic Chemistry or Bioorganic/Medicinal Chemistry, and is presented to a chemist who has made significant original contributions to the field, in its broadest sense. The prize consists of a gold medal, a certificate, and a monetary award of US $15,000. In 2020, the award honors significant original, creative contributions to the field of Organic Chemistry. The winner is expected to write an appropriate article for Tetrahedron as part of a Special Issue compiled in their honour.


View the list of winners on the Tetrahedron journal page

Application Process

This year the prize will be awarded to an Organic Chemist who has made significant original contributions to the field, in its broadest sense.

To nominate candidates, please send a document (as PDF) containing the following elements:

  • The nominee’s name, current affiliation, contact details and website.
  • A two-page biographical sketch
  • A list of no more than 10 of the nominee’s key publications
  • Two-page letter of support from nominator (including contact details of nominator).

The deadline for nominations is 31 March 2020.

Self-nominations are not accepted. Nominations can be updated and renewed every year and will remain valid for two additional rounds after the last renewal.


Please send all nominations to Chareita Smit-Gajadhar (c.smitgajadhar@elsevier.com). Questions concerning the award may also be send to Chareita Smit-Gajadhar.

For more information please follow us on our social media channels: