Global Award

Introducing the award

These JQSRT young scientist awards were established in 2007 to acknowledge contributions from talented young researchers under the age of 37. The JQSRT awards in the categories of Radiative Transfer and Electromagnetic Scattering are named after Raymond Viskanta and Peter C. Waterman, respectively.

view the latest news and winners



2013 Elsevier / JQSRT Raymond Viskanta Award

Dr Lipinski

Dr Lipinski is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Minnesota. He received his Doctor of Technical Sciences degree in Mechanical and Process Engineering from ETH Zurich in 2004 and his Habilitation in Energy Technology from ETH Zurich in 2009.

Dr Lipinski’s research interests are in thermal and thermo-chemical sciences and development of novel energy conversion technologies. His current activities include development of high-temperature processes that utilize concentrated solar radiation for renewable fuel production and power generation. He uses numerical and experimental techniques to study heat and mass transfer phenomena in heterogeneous reacting flows, in particular radiative heat transfer.

Dr Lipinski has published 80 articles in refereed journals and conference proceedings. He has served as an Associate Editor of the ASME Journal of Solar Energy Engineering and a member of the Scientific Council of the International Centre for Heat and Mass Transfer. Dr. Lipinski is a member of ASME, AIChE, ACS, AIAA, OSA, AAAS, and ISES.

Scopus Profile

Previous Winners of the JQSRT are:

2011: Dr. Matthew Berg:
Scopus profile

2010: Dr. Dmitry V. Petrov:
Scopus profile

2009: Dr Laurent Pilon:
Scopus profile

The winner is of the Viskanta award is usually elected by a committee chaired by the Editor-in-Chief of JQSRT and consisting of several key people in the field. Candidate names are solicited and discussed amongst the members, after which a winner is elected. The awards are in principle awarded every year, and traditionally presented during a conference related to one of the three focus areas of the journal. The award consists of a framed certificate and a monetary prize of Euro 500.