跳转到主内容

非常抱歉,我们不完全支持您的浏览器。如果您可以选择,请升级到较新版本或使用 Mozilla Firefox、Microsoft Edge、Google Chrome 或 Safari 14 或更高版本。如果您无法进行此操作且需要支持,请将您的反馈发送给我们。

全新设计的官网为您带来全新体验,期待您的反馈在新的选项卡/窗口中打开

Elsevier
通过我们出版

SciVal Topics

主题增强了 SciVal 作为先进评估和分析工具的能力,也是战略研究规划的重要组成部分。

SciVal Topics wheel

通过对约 94,000 个专题和 1,500 个专题集群的分析,进行专题组合分析,确定贵机构目前正在积极开展哪些专题,哪些专题势头强劲,因此可能获得充足资金1。利用同行机构、国家或研究人员的专题概览来丰富您的战略规划,并深入了解哪些研究人员活跃于特定专题,您的同行和竞争对手活跃于哪些专题,以及您应该了解的相关专题。

根据直接引用情况,一个 Topic 是具有共同知识兴趣的出版物的集合,代表了全球的研究领域。主题可大可小,可新可旧,可增长可衰退。随着时间的推移,会有新的主题出现,由于主题代表着研究领域,因此它们是动态的,会不断发展。一份出版物只能属于一个专题,一个专题只能属于一个专题集群。

与科研的性质一样,许多主题是多学科的,较旧的主题可能处于休眠状态,但仍然存在。此外,科研人员本身也是流动的,并且在许多科研领域工作,因此为许多主题做出贡献。使用直接引文分析(而不是共被引分析)将 1996 年至今的 Scopus 出版物分为主题和主题集群。

如何使用科学中的主题显著度?

  • 大学领导、高级科研官员、院长和系主任可通过自己和同行机构的组合概览来丰富战略研究规划,以确定科研优势并支持战略合作伙伴关系决策

  • 科研服务团队和图书馆可通过举办研讨会并提供感兴趣主题和科研领域的关键机构和科研人员的见解来丰富管理层报告,促进、加强协作努力并支持有针对性的资助投标

  • 教师和科研人员可确定特定主题的专家和潜在的跨部门合作者,以加强他们的项目团队和资助投标,并确定可能获得充足资助的主题,他们还可以发现关键兴趣领域的新出版物以供阅读。

  • 政府和资助机构可介绍其国家的科研活动,确定在感兴趣或重点领域开展工作的主要机构和科研人员

  • 企业研发团队可以识别潜在的战略技术合作伙伴,找到战略或利基领域的关键学术专业知识,了解竞争对手积极研发的主题

Cover of case study: Arizona State University

案例研究:亚利桑那州立大学确定专业知识并将其与 SciVal 联系起来

阅读案例研究 在新的选项卡/窗口中打开
SciVal 主题转盘 - 雅典娜大学 - 主题和主题集群

主题转盘和表视图提供了感兴趣实体正在贡献的主题的概览,以及在其他模块中更详细地分析主题的清晰方法。

方法论 — 主题和主题集群是如何创建的?

我们利用整个引文网络 --·1996 年以来 5500 多万份 Scopus 索引出版物之间的 10 亿多条引文链接,以及另外 2000 多万份至少被引用两次的非索引文件 -- 并将该网络分成约 96000 个主题。

如果主题内的直接引用关联较强,而主题外的直接引用关联较弱,则会创建一个主题。只有被索引的出版物才包含在主题中。

通过找寻引文链接较弱处来识别集群(主题)之间的分界。在链接较弱处,集群被分成单独的主题。

图表 - Kevin dots 2

主题集群是应用与创建主题相同的直接引用算法形成。当主题间的引用链接强度达到一定阈值时,就会形成一个主题集群。主题集是将具有相似研究兴趣的主题聚合到更广泛、更高层次的研究领域中。在深入研究更具体或更细分的基础主题之前,这些主题集群可用于更广泛地了解国家、机构(或团体)或科研人员(或团体)正在进行的研究。

96,000 个主题中的每一个都与 1,500 个主题集之一相匹配。与主题一样,一名科研人员或机构可为多个主题集群做出贡献,但一个主题只能属于一个主题集群,一份出版物只能属于一个主题(因此也只能属于一个主题集群)。

什么是显著度?

显著度是特定主题的势头/动向或可见性的指标。显著度并不意味着“重要性”。计算一个主题的突出度需要结合三个指标,以显示该主题的势头:

  1. n 年的引用次数相比于 n 年和 n-1 年发表的论文数

  2. n 年的 Scopus 浏览次数相比于 n 年和 n-1 年发表的论文数

  3. n 年的平均 CiteScore

显著度并不意味着“重要性”

由于某些科研领域的性质,有些主题永远不会具有 "显著度"。但这并不意味着该主题不重要。

显著度与资助存在怎样的关系?

特定主题的显著度(势头)与该主题中每位作者的资助金额间存在相关性 (1)在新的选项卡/窗口中打开。平均而言,显著度越高,每位作者可用于该主题科研的资金就越多。

SciTech Strategies 通过文本相似性,将 STAR METRICS 数据库中价值 2,030 亿美元的 31.4 万项资助分配到所有 9.6 万个主题中,从而确定了主题的显著度与主题内每位作者的资助金额之间的相关性,STAR METRICS 数据库是一个大型项目级资助数据库,占美国联邦资助的 24%。每个主题的资助数据被分成两个时间段,并对相关性进行了分析。该模型还显示,突出度与未来资助之间的相关性为 0.616,因此,显著度占未来资助变异的 38%(或 0.6162)。

1Research Portfolio Analysis and Topic Prominence在新的选项卡/窗口中打开 Richard Klavans 和 Kevin W. Boyack

其他信息

有关科学领域主题显著度的更多信息,请参阅以下论文和文档:

Skip to main content

Unfortunately we don't fully support your browser. If you have the option to, please upgrade to a newer version or use Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, or Safari 14 or newer. If you are unable to, and need support, please send us your feedback.

Elsevier
Publish with us

SciVal Topics

Topics enhances SciVal’s capabilities as an advanced evaluative and analytical tool and an important part of strategic research planning.

SciVal Topics wheel

Conduct a portfolio analysis to identify which Topics your institution is currently active in, and which Topics have high momentum, and so are likely to be well-funded1(opens in new tab/window) through analysis of around 94,000 Topics and 1,500 Topic Clusters. Enrich your strategic planning with Topic overviews of peer institutions, countries or researchers and gain insight into which researchers are active in specific Topics, which Topics your peers and competitors are active in and the related Topics of which you should be aware.

A Topic is a collection of publications with a common intellectual interest, based on direct citations, that represent fields of research globally. Topics can be large or small, new or old, growing or declining. Over time, new Topics will surface, and as Topics represent fields of research, they are dynamic and will evolve. A publication can belong to only one Topic and a Topic can belong to only one Topic Cluster.

As with the nature of research many Topics are multidisciplinary, and older Topics may be dormant, but they still exist. In addition, researchers themselves are mobile, and work across many research areas, and thereby contribute to many Topics. Scopus publications from 1996-present are clustered into the Topics and Topic Clusters using direct citation analysis (as opposed to co-citation analysis).

How can I use Topics?

  • University leaders, Senior Research Officers, Deans and department heads can enrich strategic research planning with portfolio overviews of their own and peer institutions to identify research strengths and support strategic partnership decisions

  • Research Services teams and libraries can enrich management level reports, facilitate and enhance collaboration efforts and support targeted funding bids through facilitating workshops and providing insights around the key institutions and researchers in Topics and research fields of interest

  • Faculty and researchers can identify experts and potential cross-sector collaborators in specific Topics to strengthen their project teams and funding bids, and identify Topics which are likely to be well funded — they can also uncover new publications to read in key areas of interest

  • Governments and funding agencies can profile the research activities of their nations and identify the key institutions and researchers working in Topics of interest or focus

  • Corporate Research & Development teams can identify potential strategic technology partners, locate key academic expertise in strategic or niche fields and profile Topics competitors are active in

Cover of case study: Arizona State University

Case study: Arizona State university identifies and connects expertise with SciVal

Read case study (opens in new tab/window)
SciVal topic wheel - Athena University - Topics & topic clusters

The Topic wheel and Scatterplot views provide overviews of the Topics an entity of interest is contributing to and clear ways to analyze the Topics in more detail in other modules.

Methodology — how are Topics and Topic Clusters created?

We take the entire citation network — over 1.5 billion citation links between 59+ million Scopus-indexed publications from 1996 forward and an additional 24+ million non-indexed documents that are cited at least twice, and indexed and non-indexed publications from before 1996 — and break that network into around 94,000 Topics.

All Scopus publications are clustered into Topics using direct citation analysis (as opposed to co-citation analysis). A Topic is created where the direct citation linkages within the Topic are strong and the direct citation linkages outside the Topic are weak. Only the indexed publications are included in Topics.

The borders between clusters (Topics) are identified by looking at where the citation links are weak. Where the links are weak, the clusters are split into separate Topics.

Diagram - Kevin dots 2

Topic Clusters are formed using the same direct citation algorithm that creates Topics. When the strength of the citation links between Topics reaches a threshold, a Topic Cluster is formed. A Topic Cluster is an aggregation of Topics with similar research profiles into broader, higher-level areas of research. These Topic Clusters can be used to get a broader understanding of the research being done by a country, institution (or group) or researcher (or group), before drilling into the more specific or niche underlying Topics.

Each of the 94,000 Topics have been matched with one of the 1,500 Topic Clusters. As with Topics, a researcher or institution can contribute to multiple Topic Clusters, but a Topic can only belong to one Topic Cluster and a publication can only belong to one Topic (and, therefore, one Topic Cluster).

In May 2024 we launched a new updated set of Topics and Topic Clusters – next generation SciVal Topics. Drawing upon recent methodological advancements (2(opens in new tab/window) – external link), the new updated set of Topics is more cohesive, with a noticeably higher proportion of publications being strongly linked to a Topic, providing greater relevance and precise insights.

What is prominence?

Prominence is an indicator of the momentum/movement or visibility of a particular Topic. Prominence does not signify 'Importance'. Calculating a Topic’s Prominence combines three metrics to indicate the momentum of the topic:

  1. Citation count in year n to papers published in n and n-1

  2. Scopus views count in year n to papers published in n and n-1

  3. Average CiteScore for year n

Prominence does not signify 'Importance'

Due to the nature of certain research fields there are Topics which will never become ‘prominent’. However, this does not mean the Topic is not important.

How does prominence relate to funding?

There is a correlation between the prominence (momentum) of a particular Topic and the amount of funding per author within that topic (1(opens in new tab/window)). On average, the higher the momentum, the more money per author is available for research on that Topic.

SciTech Strategies identified a correlation between the prominence of a Topic and the amount of funding per author within a Topic by assigning 314,000 grants worth $203 billion from the STAR METRICS database, a large project-level funding database that accounts for 24 percent of US federal funding, to all 96,000 Topics through textual similarity. The grant data were split into two time periods for each Topic and the correlation analyzed. The model also showed that the correlation between Prominence and future funding is 0.616, thus Prominence accounts for 38% (or 0.6162) of the variance of future funding.

1Research Portfolio Analysis and Topic Prominence(opens in new tab/window) Richard Klavans and Kevin W. Boyack

Additional information

For further information regarding Topics of Prominence please see the following papers and documents: