19th Tetrahedron Symposium


Huw Davies, Emory University, USA


Huw M. L. Davies was born in Aberystwyth, Wales, UK in 1956.  He received his B. Sc. degree from University College Cardiff, Wales (1977) and his Ph. D degree from the University of East Anglia (1980).  After a post-doctoral position at Princeton University (1980-1983), he joined the faculty at Wake Forest University (1883-1995). After being promoted to full professor he moved to the University at Buffalo, the State University of New York (1995-2008) where he held the positions of UB Distinguished Professor and Larkin Professor of Organic Chemistry.  In 2008 he moved to Emory University as the Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Chemistry.

Professor Davies’ research emphasizes the development of new enantioselective synthetic methods and their applications in total synthesis and drug discovery. A major current theme of his program is catalytic asymmetric C–H functionalization by means of rhodium-carbene induced C–H insertion. He is currently the Director of the NSF Phase II Center for Chemical Innovation for Selective C-H Functionalization, which brings together 24 faculty members from 15 universities.

Professor Davies is actively involved in the chemical community, having served as the Executive Officer of the 2003 National Organic Symposium, the 2005 Program Chair of the Gordon Conference on Heterocyclic Compounds, the 2005 Chair of the Organic Division of the American Chemical Society, and Co-Organizer of the ACS Organic Division Assistant Professor Symposium at the Fall ACS meeting since 2006.  He is currently an Associate Editor for Chemical Society Reviews.  Recent awards include the American Chemical Society Cope Scholar Award (2005), Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2007), Fellow of the American Chemical Society (2009), Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2012), eEROS Reagent of the Year Award (2013), Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (2015), and a Humboldt Senior Investigator Fellowship (2017)