8th International Conference on Algal Biomass, Biofuels and Bioproducts



This conference is organized by Elsevier.

Conference deadlines

Extended abstract submission deadline - 23 February 2018.

Early registration deadline - 6 April 2018

Student Travel Award Application Deadline - 23 February 2018

Conference Chairs

Olaf Kruse

Department of Algae Biotechnology & Bioenergy, Bielefeld University, Germany

Olaf Kruse started his scientific carrier as a postdoctoral fellow at Imperial College London with research topics on Plant Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. In 1997 he returned to Bielefeld University/Germany, where he took over a group leader position in the field of Molecular Biology on microalgae.

View full bio

José A. Olivares

Editor-in-Cheif, Algal Research, USA

Dr. Olivares is the current Chair of the International Conference for Algal Biomass, Biofuels and Bioproducts (AlgalBBB), which he has helped organize since its inception in 2010.

View full bio

Scientific Committee

Maria Barbosa

Wageningen University, The Netherlands

Maria Barbosa is associate professor in microalgal Biotechnology, director of AlgaePARC at Wageningen University, the Netherlands and visiting Professor at Bergen University, Department of Biology, Bergen, Norway.

View full bio

Amanda Barry

Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA

Dr. Amanda Barry is a Scientist in Bioscience Division at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). Within the Bioenergy and Biome Sciences Group, Dr. Barry’s primary research focus is in algal biochemistry and the genetic manipulation of algae for economical biofuel production.

View full bio

Alexander Golberg

Tel Aviv University, Israel

Alex Golberg received B.Sc in Food and Biotechnology engineering from Technion and PhD in Bioengineering from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He was a postdoctoral scholar at the Department of Mechanical Engineering at UC Berkeley in 2011 and from 2012 to 2014 he was a fellow at the Center for Engineering in Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital. From 2005 to 2010 he was a research engineer at Invitrogen.

View full bio

Arum Han

Dept. Electrical and Computer Engineering & Dept. Biomedical Engineering Texas A&M University, USA

Dr. Arum Han is a Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University (USA).

View full bio

Dave Hazlebeck

Global Algae Innovations Inc., USA

Dr. Hazlebeck is a proven leader and innovator in the algae industry. He has over 30 years experience in chemical and biological research and development from laboratory-scale through piloting and commercial implementation.

View full bio

Luis Herrera-Estrella

Langebio Cinvestav, Mexico

Dr. Luis Herrera-Estrella is currently Director of the National Laboratory of Genomic for Biodiversity in Mexico. He made important contributions to the development of gene transfer methods for plant cells and the study of the signaling mechanisms that regulate adaptive responses to environmental stress in plants.

View full bio

Yonghua Li-Beisson

Institut de Biosciences et Biotechnologies, Université Aix Marseille, France

Yonghua Li-Beisson is a Senior Scientist at CEA (the French Atomic and Alternative Energies Commission) and also at Aix-Marseille University. She received a PhD in Biological Sciences from University of Hull, England, and this is followed by carrying out postdoctoral research at University of Oxford and at Michigan State University.

View full bio

Pia Lindberg

Microbial Chemistry Department of Chemistry-Ångström, Uppsala University, Sweden

Pia Lindberg got her PhD at Uppsala University in 2003. Then she was a postdoctoral researcher at CEA Saclay, France, 2003-2004, and at University of California, Berkeley with professor Anastasios Melis, 2004-2008.

View full bio

Marie Magnusson

Centre for Macroalgal Resources & Biotechnology, James Cook University, Australia

Dr. Marie Magnusson is a Research Fellow in the College of Science and Engineering at James Cook University (JCU), Australia, and Program Leader at the Centre for Macroalgal Resources and Biotechnology (MACRO), in an industry partnered project with MBD Ltd.

View full bio

Adrian Unc

School of Science and the Environment, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada

Dr. Adrian Unc is a Professor in the School of Science and the Environment at the Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada. Previously, as a faculty member at the New Mexico State University, he was a member of the National Alliance for Advanced Biofuels and Bioproducts.

View full bio