2019 Award Winners

We offer our warm congratulations to the winners of the 2019 JCIS Darsh Wasan Award and the 9th International Colloids Conference Best Poster Prizes. Awards were presented at the 9th International Colloids Conference in Sitges, Spain.


From left to right: Rob van Daalen (Publisher Chemistry, Elsevier), Martin Malmsten (Editor-in-Chief JCIS), Joshua Marlow (Monash University), Dina Mosselhy (Aalto Univerisity), Morfo Zembyla (University of Leeds), Mietek Jaroniec (Kent State University), Julian Eastoe (Conference Chair), Arturo Lopez-Quintela (Editor JCIS)

2019 JCIS Darsh Wasan Award Winner

Mietek Jaroniec, Kent State University, Ohio, USA

Prof. Jaroniec was awarded the 2019 JCIS Darsh Wasan Award in recognition of his outstanding contributions within several areas of surface and colloid chemistry, notably i) soft and hard templated synthesis of silica, organosilica, carbon, and related nanostructures, ii) characterization of such nanostructured materials, and iii) their applications in adsorption, catalysis, and environmental and energy–related areas.

9th International Colloids Conference Best Poster Prize Winners

Morfo Zembyla, University of Leeds, UK
Poster: Pickering water-in-oil (w/o) emulsions stabilized by an interfacial complex of polyphenol crystals and protein.

Dina Mosselhy, Aalto Univerisity, Finland
Poster: Silica–gentamicin nanohybrids: Defeating bacterial resistance and biofilms, and in vivo toxicity.

Joshua Marlow, Monash University, Australia
Poster: Nanoparticles in lyotropic liquid crystals: The structural and rheological effects due to size and surface chemistry).

All poster prize winners received a certificate, EUR 250 and free admission to the 10th International Colloids Conference, which will be held at the Palau de Congressos de Palma, Mallorca, Spain (14-17 June 2020).