This conference is organised by Elsevier and the supporting organizations are the Food Structure & Functionality Forum and the International Dairy Federation.

Food Structure and Functionality Forum

Conference deadlines

Abstract submission deadline - 12 January 2018

Submission system is still open for poster abstracts

Author notification deadline - 20 February 2018

Author registration deadline - 4 April 2018

Early bird registration deadline - 4 April 2018


Conference chairman

Dérick Rousseau

Ryerson University, Canada

Professor of food science at Ryerson University in Toronto, Canada (1998-present).

PhD: University of Guelph on lipid crystallization (1997).

Research: formation and stability of food colloidal systems (fats, emulsions, gels and confectionery) and how to improve functionality.

150+ publications, 230+ presentations and 3 patents.

View full bio

Conference co-chairs

Supratim Ghosh

University of Saskatchewan, Canada

Supratim Ghosh is an assistant professor in the Department of Food and Bioproduct Sciences of University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Canada.

View full bio

Marcel Paques

Friesland Campina, Netherlands

Marcel Paques was appointed at Royal FrieslandCampina in 2002, and is working as Senior Research Specialist in their Global Innovation Centre at the campus of Wageningen University,  the Netherlands.

View full bio

Christopher Gregson

Ingredion Incorporated, USA

Chris has worked at Ingredion since 2011 and is currently Director of the Global Sweetener R&D group. His team focuses on the development and commercialization of natural high potency sweeteners, as well as solutions for sugar and calorie reduction.

View full bio

Organising Committee

David W. Everett

California Polytechnic State University, USA

Dr. David Everett is Director of the Dairy Innovation Institute and holds the Leprino Foods Professorship in the Department of Animal Science at the California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, USA.

View full bio

Supratim Ghosh, University of Saskatchewan, Canada

Christopher Gregson, Ingredion Incorporated, USA

Marcel Paques, Friesland Campina, Netherlands

Dérick Rousseau, Ryerson University, Canada

Laurence Rycken

IDF (International Dairy Federation), Belgium

Laurence Rycken is Technical Manager - Nutrition at the International Dairy Federation, Brussels, Belgium where she provides strategic leadership through scientific knowledge and technical expertise.

View full bio

Sylvie Turgeon

Université Laval, Canada

Sylvie Turgeon is a Professor in the Department of Food Science at Université Laval and Director of the Institute of Nutrition and Functional Foods (INAF). Previously, Dr. Turgeon was the Director of the STELA Dairy Research Centre for 9 years. She teaches food formulation and the use of food additives (role, functionality and regulation).

View full bio