Snapshot Statistics of the World’s Most Influential Research Nations Presented in Elsevier’s New Book: World of Research

350 pages of country-level research performance overviews provide valuable insights for academia, government, funding bodies and industry

Amsterdam, September 30, 2015

Elsevier, a world-leading provider of scientific, technical and medical information products and services, today announced the launch of World of Research 2015, a hardcover book that provides an overview of critical research indicators for the most prolific countries or regions in the world.

“This is the first time we have created a book that covers so many countries with such detailed research metrics,” says Dr Judith Kamalski, Head of Analytical Services, Elsevier. “Not only is each country or region presented in a way that showcases its unique scientific culture, but we have also included findings on the patterns we saw in the data– valuable information for academic and government strategic decision making.”

Country-level overviews provide information about:

* R&D investment and human capital

* Scholarly output and impact

* Patents filed and granted

* International and domestic collaboration

* Researcher mobility

* Disciplinary strengths or weaknesses

* Top institution's output, growth, and impact

“We’ve created a book that gives a detailed overview of the strategically influential research intensive countries around the world,” says Nick Fowler, Managing Director, Research Management, Elsevier. “It’s a great source of information for busy executives that need to understand the subtle research strengths and challenges of these countries using a comprehensive basket of metrics.”

The World of Research 2015 is a culmination of the most popular analyses undertaken by the Elsevier’s Analytical Services team including reports such us International Comparative Performance of the UK Research Base and Brain Science Mapping the Landscape of Brain and Neuroscience Research. Analyses included are based primarily on Scopus data; with supplement data from sources such as LexisNexis TotalPatent, OECD, UNESCO, WIPO and ScienceDirect.

For a preview and / or to order a copy, go to: Elsevier Webshop.

---

Notes to editors
Elsevier will host two webinars Tuesday, October 6, to introduce World of Research 2015. The webinars are free, but registration is required. Login details will be sent after registration.

Asia Pacific & Europe time zones

9:30 to 10:00 CET (Amsterdam: 9:30 | Singapore: 16:30 | Sydney: 19:30)

Register here

Europe & America time zones

10:30 to 11:00 EST (San Francisco: 7:30 | New York: 10:30 | London: 15:30 | Amsterdam: 16:30)

Register here

About Elsevier Research Intelligence
Elsevier Research Intelligence is a research information management portfolio that improves institutional and individual ability to establish, execute and evaluate research strategy and performance. Combining SciVal tools, the Pure system and custom Analytical Services with the rich data asset Scopus and the reference management technology of Mendeley, Elsevier Research Intelligence equips research institutions, funders, policy-makers and researchers with a wide range of content, tools, and powerful analytics. Elsevier Research Intelligence helps individuals and institutions make better decisions, improve collaboration, attract more investment and optimize expenditure.

About Elsevier
Elsevier is a world-leading provider of information solutions that enhance the performance of science, health, and technology professionals, empowering them to make better decisions, deliver better care, and sometimes make groundbreaking discoveries that advance the boundaries of knowledge and human progress. Elsevier provides web-based, digital solutions — among them ScienceDirect, Scopus, Research Intelligence and ClinicalKey— and publishes over 2,500 journals, including The Lancet and Cell, and more than 35,000 book titles, including a number of iconic reference works. Elsevier is part of RELX Group, a world-leading provider of information and analytics for professional and business customers across industries. www.elsevier.com

Media contact
Sacha Boucherie
Sr. Press Officer, Corporate Relations, Elsevier
+31 20 4853564
s.boucherie@elsevier.com