科學與社會

從閱讀研究到討論最新突破,促進科學、醫學和技術與社會之間的更大連結有助於識別並解決社會的挑戰。Elsevier 在此過程中確保為專業讀者與泛眾傳達和翻譯可信內容,藉此發揮作用。 Elsevier 同時參與推動研究誠信

存取

舉凡每日使用發表在我們書籍和期刊內容的研究人員和學生,到需要有關其治療關鍵資訊的患者,Elsevier 擁有一系列的存取選項,確保所有人可存取其所需重要資訊。我們的一些關鍵計畫包括:

觀看存取計畫的完整列表

在緊急情況下提供存取

在全球危機、疾病和自然災害時期,Elsevier 開發及時專用的資源中心,為緊急主題提供免費存取醫學研究、線上工具和專家建議。資源中心為醫療保健專業人員、圖書館員、研究人員和社會大眾開發。我們的中心包括:

我們還與美國國立醫學圖書館 (US National Library of Medicine) 攜手合作緊急存取計畫 (Emergency Access Initiative),為受到災害影響的醫療保健專業人員、圖書管員和社會大眾提供臨時存取免費閱讀全文論文。2010 年海地地震和隨後的霍亂疫情、2010 年巴基斯坦洪水、2011 年日本福島地震與海嘯、2013 年菲律賓颱風海燕以及 2014 年伊波拉危機均啟動存取計畫。

科學素養

Elsevier 一部分的職責是傳播研究並改善專業讀者與泛眾對科學的理解。我們的計畫包括:

  • AudioSlides:Elsevier 期刊提供作者上傳簡短網路廣播式音訊演說選項,讓他們用自己的話語來描述他們的研究。這些介紹可藉由 ScienceDirect 供所有人免費取得。
  • Elsevier Connect:我們的線上社群和新聞網站刊登在 Elsevier 期刊上發表、關於科學、技術和健康研究論文的新聞報導。推出以來,已刊登逾 1000 則故事,而且每月平均超過 160,000 名不重複訪客並獲得超過 220,000 次瀏覽量。
  • 科學與人 (Science & People):這是由 Elsevier 籌畫的一系列活動,讓研究人員和感興趣的社會大眾聚集在一起討論最新的科學、技術和醫學研究。這些活動與當地合作夥伴共同籌畫,有助於向更廣泛社會大眾推廣研究。
  • 媒體推廣研究:記者擅長向社會大眾傳達科學。Elsevier 提供媒體免費存取,透過新聞稿和我們給記者的研究重點 (Research Highlights) 通知,幫助撰寫研究故事並推廣最新研究。

合作夥伴

Pint of Science

Pint of Science 是一項全球性倡議,目的是以有趣、吸引人和平易近人的方式闡明科學。它將科學走出象牙塔,進入酒館和酒吧。它為已建立聲譽、年輕和非專業的研究人員提供了與同事以及社會大眾交流資訊的平台;他們從不同的觀眾那裡得到回饋、聆聽非專家的觀點,而且研究成果獲得實驗室以外的關注。

Elsevier 一直是支持英國、德國、巴西和美國 Pint of Science 節活動的活躍合作夥伴、贊助商和推動者。

維基百科圖書館存取捐贈計畫

作為維基百科圖書館存取捐贈計畫 (Wikipedia Library’s Access Donation Program) 的貢獻出版商,Elsevier 提供頂尖維基百科編輯免費存取 ScienceDirect。這有助於編輯在維基百科研究主題、編輯文章並引用可靠來源,改善百科全書並為社會大眾提供最優質的資訊。

REISearch

REISearch 於 2014 年初推出,是歐盟委員會共同資助的專案,旨在建立一個負責任且知情的多方利益關係者辯論的線上場所。該倡議所追求的目標是透縮小科學、社會、媒體和政策制定者之間的溝通差距,更清楚了解歐洲各地關鍵社會議題的證據、限制和公民意見;Elsevier 是該倡議活躍的支持者。

Sense About Science

這是一間英國慈善機構,目的是藉由與科學家、記者和其他人合作,推廣社會大眾對科學的理解,以確保證據在社會大眾對科學討論的前線,並改正不科學的錯誤資訊。

Elsevier 自 2006 年起與 SAS 合作。透過合作,一系列獨特的共同舉辦活動和出版計畫,致力提升記者、政策制定者和公眾對同儕審查的認知,激勵並促使年輕研究人員參與世界各地的公共辯論,為科學挺身而出。

科學媒體中心

一個獨立的慈善機構,科學媒體中心 (SMC) 認為科學家可藉由更迅速有效地參與影響公開議論和對科學態度的故事,對媒體報導科學議題的方式產生極大影響。為了社會大眾和政策制定者的利益,他們的目標是藉由媒體提供關於科學和工程的準確和實證資訊,特別是在大多數混淆和錯誤資訊發生時引起爭議和頭條的新聞報導。

Elsevier 自 2006 年起一直力挺 SMC。

白城創客挑戰計畫 (White City Maker Challenge Program),倫敦帝國學院

倫敦帝國學院開創一項計畫,支持來自倫敦各地弱勢都會社區 100 多位年輕人成為下一代「創客」和企業家。創客挑戰計畫使 14 至 18 歲的兒童能夠參與科學、工程和設計主題。活動和工作坊將在帝國學院白城校區創客專用的場地舉行,並由世界前十大的大學職員和學生提供支持和專業知識。

Elsevier 基金會的三年計畫獎金對此計畫貢獻甚深。

VALERIE 研究計畫,瓦根尼罕大學 (Wageningen University)- 荷蘭

迫切需要研究扮演重要角色,以幫助著手對付食品需求增加的全球挑戰。許多歐盟和國家資助的農業和林業領域專案提供出色的結果,但將這些結果轉化為農業實務是有限的。在瓦根尼罕大學的推動下,Valerie 研究專案的目標是透過將經驗知識融入現場實務中(即在荷蘭為農民帶來科學)來推動創新。

Elsevier 是該專案驕傲的貢獻者,以資料庫開發並透過免費存取農業和林業學科中的重要期刊鼎力支持。這些內容將直接供給「ask-Valerie.eu」– 作為農民知識入口網站的搜索引擎。

無障礙合作夥伴

Elsevier 是一家無障礙出版商,我們與多家機構合作,協助提供更多書籍和期刊論文的無障礙存取。這些合作夥伴包括 Load2LearnBookshare

Elsevier 還是身障者專用圖書聯盟 (Accessible Books Consortium, ABC) 的創始合作夥伴,增加全球無障礙格式(點字、音訊和放大字體)書籍數量,並供盲胞、視力受損人士或其他閱讀障礙者取得。它是由世界智慧財產權組織 (World Intellectual Property Organization, WIPO) 主導的包容性夥伴關係組織,包含倡議組織、作者、圖書館和出版商。

研究誠信

Elsevier 分享研究社群的目標,推廣研究誠信 - 從適當的設計方法到倫理論文提交、適當審查的發表,以及提供研究資料進行重新使用。

Science & Society

From reading research, to discussing the latest breakthroughs, fostering a greater connection between science, medicine and technology with society can help identify and solve society's challenges. Elsevier plays a role in this process by making sure that trusted content is communicated and translated for both specialized and broad audiences. Elsevier is also involved in promoting Research Integrity.

Access

From researchers and students using content published in our books and journals on a daily basis to a patient who needs critical information about their treatment, Elsevier has a range of access options to ensure that everyone can access the important information they need. Some of our key programs include:

View full list of access programs

Providing access in emergencies

In times of global crises, disease and natural disasters Elsevier develops timely, dedicated resource centers which provide free access to medical research, online tools and expert advice on emergency themes. The resource centers are developed for healthcare professionals, librarians, researchers and members of the public. Our centers include:

We also partner with the US National Library of Medicine on the Emergency Access Initiative to provide temporary free access to full text articles to healthcare professionals, librarians and members of the public affected by disasters. Access was triggered for the Haiti 2010 earthquake and subsequent cholera epidemic, flooding in Pakistan (2010), both the Fukushima earthquake and tsunami in Japan (2011), Typhoon Haiyan in the Philippines (2013), and the Ebola crisis (2014).

Science literacy

Part of Elsevier's job is to disseminate research and improve understanding of science with both specialized and broader audiences.Our programs include:

  • AudioSlides: Elsevier journals offer authors the option to upload a short web-cast style audio presentation describing their research in their own words. These presentations are available for free to everyone through ScienceDirect.
  • Elsevier Connect: Our online community and news site publishes news stories about the science, technology and health research papers published in Elsevier journals. Since its launch, over 1000 stories have been published which combined reach a monthly average of over 160,000 unique visitors and receive more than 220,000 page views.
  • Science & People: This is a series of events organized by Elsevier which bring together researchers and the interested public to discuss the latest science, technology and medical research. The events are co-organized with local partners and help to promote research to the wider public.
  • Media promotion of research: Journalists are skilled at translating science for the wider public. Elsevier provide free access for media to help write research stories, as well as promoting the latest research through press releases and our Research Highlights alerts for journalists.

Partnerships

Pint of Science

Pint of Science is a global initiative that aims to shed light on science in a fun, engaging and approachable way. It takes science out of the labs and brings it to pubs and bars. It offers established, early-career and non-professional researchers a podium to exchange information with colleagues as well as the public; they receive feedback from a diverse audience, hear perspectives from non-specialists and garner attention for their work outside the lab.

Elsevier has been an active partner, sponsor and promoter of the Pint of Science festival supporting events in the UK, Germany, Brazil and the United States.

Wikipedia Library's Access Donation Program

As a contributing publisher to the Wikipedia Library’s Access Donation Program, Elsevier provides top Wikipedia editors free access to ScienceDirect. This helps editors research topics, edit articles and cite authoritative sources on Wikipedia, improving the encyclopedia and bringing the best quality information to the public.

REISearch

Launched at the beginning of 2014, REISearch is a European Commission co-funded project aimed at creating an online arena for responsible and informed multi-stakeholder debate. The initiative’s ambition is to better understand the evidence, the constraints and the opinions of citizens across Europe on key societal issues by bridging communication gaps between science, society, media and policy makers; Elsevier is active supporter of the initiative.

Sense About Science

A UK-based charity that aims to promote public understanding of science by working with scientists, journalists and others to ensure that evidence lies at the forefront of public discussions about science, and to correct unscientific misinformation.

Since 2006 Elsevier has partnered with SAS. Through the partnership a unique series of co-hosted events and publications has worked to increase the understanding of peer review among journalists, policymakers and the public as well as to engage and inspire early career researchers to stand up for science in public debates around the world.

The Science Media Centre

As an independent charity, the SMC believes that scientists can have a huge impact on the way the media cover scientific issues, by engaging more quickly and more effectively with the stories that are influencing public debate and attitudes to science. Their goal is to provide, for the benefit of the public and policymakers, accurate and evidence-based information about science and engineering through the media, particularly on controversial and headline news stories when most confusion and misinformation occurs.

Elsevier has been a proud supporter of the SMC since 2006.

White City Maker Challenge Program, Imperial College London

Imperial College London has created a program to support more than 100 young people from disadvantaged urban communities around London to become the next generation of “makers” and entrepreneurs. The Maker Challenge Program enables children between ages 14-18 to engage with science, engineering and design topics. Activities and workshops will be held in a dedicated maker space at Imperial’s White City Campus, with support and expertise from staff and students of the world’s top 10 universities.

The Elsevier Foundation is key contributor to the program through its three-year grant.

VALERIE Research Project, Wageningen University- the Netherlands

There is a compelling need for research to play a significant role to help tackle the global challenge of increased demand of food. Many EU and nationally funded projects in the fields of agriculture and forestry provide excellent results, yet translation of these results into farming practices is limited. Driven by Wageningen University, the aim of the Valerie Research Project is to boost innovation by integrating empirical knowledge into field practice- i.e. bringing science to farmers in the Netherlands.

Elsevier is a proud contributor to the project, providing support with database development, and through free access to key journals within agriculture and forestry disciplines. This content will feed directly into the “ask-Valerie.eu” – the search engine that will serve as knowledge portal for farmers.

Accessibility partnerships

Elsevier is an accessible publisher and we partner with a number of organizations to help further accessibility for both books and journal articles. These partnerships include Load2Learn and Bookshare.

Elsevier is also a founding partner in the Accessible Books Consortium (ABC) that aims to increase the number of books worldwide in accessible formats (braille, audio and large print) and make them available to people who are blind, visually impaired or otherwise print disabled. It is an inclusive partnership organisation led by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) and involving advocacy organisations, authors, libraries and publishers.

Research integrity

Elsevier shares the research community’s goal to promote the integrity of research – from proper design methodology to ethical article submission, properly reviewed publication, and making research data available for re-use. Read more