Elsevier 日常生活:
Yoshiko Kakita

地點東京

「我正在做的研究管理非常新穎, 我們的顧客日新月異,而我們也變動不已。」

Yoshiko Kakita

聊聊您在 Elsevier 的角色。您的職責是?

我曾擔任研究管理團隊的解決方案銷售經理,但近期升遷為區域解決方案經理。我目前主管日本研究管理團隊。我投身 SciVal、Pure、Scopus 和 Analytical Services。我研究的市場是學術界、政府和一些企業的研究管理解決方案。我在 Elsevier 工作約有 10 年。

什麼因素吸引您進入 Elsevier?

因為我在國外攻讀研究所,所以當時我在尋找一間得以讓我的國際經驗一展長才的國際公司。也是因為在研究所後,我不想成為研究人員,但我仍然想為科學界做貢獻心力,所以 Elsevier 當時的確是我的完美選擇 — 現在依然如此。

到目前為止,您在 Elsevier 工作最喜愛的體驗是什麼?

每當顧客向我求助一些專家建議或幫助時,我對此感到非常高興。例如,日本的許多大學正試圖在研究管理方面變得更具策略性,以便在世界上更具競爭力。在每年公佈排名後,一些大學會聯絡我討論結果以及他們需要做什麼。這不全是由於我們銷售的解決方案,他們尋求我的建議,是因為我銷售這些解決方案,而他們希望我對此有所了解。這一刻我對做這份工作感覺非常好,因為我覺得我的顧客把我當作是夥伴 — 而不僅僅是一名銷售人員。

在 Elsevier 工作如何幫助您為世界帶來不同?

我正在做的研究管理非常新穎, 對任何人來說這都是一個新領域;大學過去只是人們受教育,或者研究人員單純做研究的地方。直到幾年前,才關乎在世界競爭。例如,在日本,國家排名有點一成不變。東京大學獨占鰲頭,其次是京都大學。總是如此,若您是頂尖的學生,您會就讀東京大學;若您是次之,那麼您會就讀京都大學。一切都是既定的。沒什麼真實競爭。但這世界變動不已;它徹底全球化。大學現在在全球層次上向政府或公司爭取更多資金,並且爭奪優秀學生,不只來自日本更來自不同國家。因此,大學正試圖在自我管理投注更多策略,特別是研究部分,因此他們需要證據或資料。這也是他們向 Elsevier 尋求解決方案。我們的顧客日新月異,而我們也變動不已。我們共同努力做得更好 — 在世界上更具競爭力。

Elsevier 的全球影響力為您開創多少機會? 您在 Elsevier 的職涯途徑如何?

10 年前我開始擔任 Scopus 解決方案銷售經理時,我的所有顧客都是圖書館。但是現在我很少和圖書館交流;多數大學對口都是研究副校長、評估副校長或研究辦公室人員,所以這已經發生很大的變化。現在我的權責僅涵蓋日本市場,但我下一步的職涯目標是將整個亞洲視一體,而可以抱有這個職涯目標對我來說已經是一個很好的機會。當然,許多大型日本公司在各地都有全球分公司,但仍有些微差異。在 Elsevier,即使我在日常生活中,也會與各國人士聯絡,所以很有趣;我與產品團隊或行銷團隊人員交談,他們均來自所不同國家,所以我認為這開拓我的視野。整個研究管理團隊確實有助於我拓寬自己對職涯途徑的看法。

在此工作期間您學習最多的是什麼?

我學習到如何適應改變。世界變動不已,而公司也不停改變。研究管理的變動相當巨大,因此我每年做事方式都會有所不同。即使我待在解決方案銷售經理同一個職位上,我交談的人改變了、人的階位也改變了。十年前,我和圖書館員交流。但後來我和研究辦公室的人員對談,然後是大學校長或副校長。上週我在日本一所頂尖大學的資深管理會議上演講。然後我建議大學應該做些什麼來提高競爭力。我們一起討論該做什麼。Elsevier 也在人員身上投入了大量資金。我們舉辦許多訓練。從長遠來看,我有機會接受各種訓練來提升自己,能夠輕易跟上變化,這真的很好。否則,我無法支持我的顧客。所以我認為這些是我在 Elsevier 學到的重要東西。

Elsevier 這個品牌對您的意義是什麼?

我們的宗旨是引領科學、技術和健康的進展,我非常有信心我們正朝目標前進。我認為我們的確是領導此科學界以及科學進行方式的領導者。我們極具創意,且不僅限於技術。銷售人員每年都會接受不同的訓練,所以我認為我們始終在進行業務方式上高人一等。我為我們是領導者感到非常自豪。當我與顧客交談時,他們也將我們視為領導者。在這個產業中,每個人都知道我們。所有大學的人都知道我們,而且所有的研究人員都知道我們。我從未遇在與人預約上遭遇困難。作為銷售人員,對於一些公司來說,預約本身可能非常困難,但對我們來說,每個人都知道我們。即使我第一次傳送電子郵件給副校長等級的人物,他們仍然願意和我見面,因為我來自 Elsevier,他們知道 Elsevier。如果您只是一家小公司的銷售人員,而您傳送電子郵件給副校長,他們永遠不會回覆您,但只是因為我來自 Elsevier,他們認為我們擁有寶貴的資訊,所以他們願意撥冗與我會面,這差別相當巨大。

更多人員

Justin Mytton 照片

Justin Mytton

地點巴西,里約熱內盧

Kelechi Okere 照片

Kelechi Okere

地點美國,紐約

Ian Evans 照片

Ian Evans

地點英國,牛津

Life at Elsevier:
Yoshiko Kakita

locationTokyo

"What I’m doing, research management, is quite new. Our customers are changing, and we are changing."

Yoshiko Kakita

Tell me about your role with Elsevier. What do you do?

I was a Solution Sales Manager for the Research Management team, but recently I was promoted to Regional Solution Manager. I’m the head of the Research Management team in Japan. I work with SciVal, Pure, Scopus and Analytical Services. The markets I look at are academics, government, and some corporate, for the research management solutions. I’ve been with Elsevier about 10 years already.

What brought you to Elsevier?

Because I did my graduate studies abroad, I was looking for an international company where my international experiences could be beneficial. It was also because after my graduate studies I didn’t want to become a researcher, but I still wanted to make contributions to the scientific community, so Elsevier was really the perfect choice for me at the time — and still is.

What is your favorite experience so far working at Elsevier?

Every time customers come to me when they need some expert advice or help, I feel very happy about it. For example, many universities in Japan are trying to become more strategic about research management so that they can become more competitive in the world. After rankings are announced every year, some universities contact me to discuss the result and what they need to do. It’s not totally about our solutions, which I sell, but they are looking for advice from me because I sell those solutions and they expect me to have some knowledge around that. That’s when I feel very good about doing this job because I feel like my customers see me as a kind of partner — not just a salesperson.

How does working at Elsevier help you make a difference in the world?

What I’m doing, research management, is quite new. It’s a new field for anyone; universities used to just be where people go to get educated, or researchers just do their research. It was not about competition in the world until just a few years ago. For example, in Japan, national rankings are kind of fixed. Number one is the University of Tokyo, and the second is Kyoto University. It’s always like that, and if you are a top student, you go to the University of Tokyo; if you are second, then you go to Kyoto University. It’s all fixed. Nothing to really compete. But the world is changing; it’s totally globalized. Universities now compete at the global level for more funding from the government or from companies, and they are also competing to get good students — from different countries as well, not only from Japan. So, universities are trying to be more strategic about how they manage themselves, especially the research part, and for that, they need evidence or data. That’s why they turn to Elsevier for our solutions. Our customers are changing, and we are changing. Together we are trying to be better — more competitive in the world.

Does Elsevier’s global reach open opportunities for you? What has your career path been like at Elsevier?

When I started as a Solution Sales Manager for Scopus 10 years ago, all of my customers were libraries. But now I seldom talk with libraries; most of my counterparts on the university side are vice presidents for research, vice presidents for evaluation, or research office people, so that has changed a lot. Now my role is only covering Japan as a market, but my career ambition as a next step is to look at Asia as a whole, and the fact that I can have this career ambition is already a good opportunity for me. Of course, many big Japanese companies have global branches everywhere, but it’s a little bit different. At Elsevier, even in daily life I contact people from different countries, so it’s fun; I talk with the product team or the marketing team people, and they come from all different countries, so I think it’s really opened up my eyes to different ways. The Research Management team as a whole is really helping me to widen my view about my career path.

What have you learned the most about while working here?

What I have learned is how I can adapt myself to change. The world is changing, and the company is changing. Research management change is huge, and I do things differently every year. Even when I stayed in the same position, Solution Sales Manager, the people who I talked to changed, and the level of people changed. Ten years ago, I was talking with librarians. But then I talked to research office people, and then I talked to the president or vice president of the university. Last week I gave a presentation at the senior management meeting at a top university in Japan. Then I advised the university on what it should do to increase its competitiveness. We discussed what to do together. Elsevier is also investing a lot in people. We have lots of trainings. In the long term, it’s really good that I have those opportunities to receive the various trainings to improve myself so that I can keep up with the changes with no problems. Otherwise I cannot support my customers. So I think these are important things I have learned at Elsevier.

What does Elsevier as a brand mean to you?

Our mission is to lead the way in advancing science, technology and health, and I feel very confident that we are doing that. I feel that we are really the leader in leading this science community and how science is done. We are very innovative, and not only about the technologies. Salespeople receive different trainings every year, so I think we are always on top of how we do business. We are a leader, and I feel very proud of it. And when I talk with my customers, they also see us as a leader. In this industry, everybody knows us. All university people know us, and all researchers know us. I never have difficulty in making an appointment with people. As a salesperson, making the appointment itself could be very difficult for some companies, but for us, everybody knows us. Even if I just send an email for the first time, at the vice president level, they are still willing to meet with me because I am from Elsevier and they know Elsevier. If you’re a salesperson from a small company, and you just send an email to a vice president, they will never reply to you, but only because I’m from Elsevier, they think we have valuable information, so they are willing to spend time with me, and that’s huge.

More people

Justin Mytton photo

Justin Mytton

locationRio de Janeiro, Brazil

Kelechi Okere photo

Kelechi Okere

locationNew York, USA

Ian Evans photo

Ian Evans

locationOxford, England