在爱思唯尔工作:
Najamuddin Khan

地点代顿,俄亥俄州,美国

“最令我兴奋的是每天都有新的挑战。这可能是要解决的新问题,要实施的新指标,或者是要使用的新数据馈送。”

Najam Khan

请给我们介绍一下您在公司工作职责方面的情况。您从事什么工作?

我是软件工程师,主要负责SciVal。SciVal是爱思唯尔针对科研管理提供的产品之一,我主要使用HPCC(即高性能计算机群技术)进行工作。它是一种大数据工具,我可以通过此工具针对各个国家和全世界生成大量的指标,如研究人员层面和研究机构层面的学术产出和H指数,此过程会用到Scopus,它是爱思唯尔旗下的另一产品,同时也是世界最大的摘要数据库。我们会在此数据库上处理各种指标,为研究人员、机构、国家和全世界提供30或40个指标。

在爱思唯尔工作期间,您最难忘的经历是什么?

那一定是我第一次前往阿姆斯特丹,在总部参加项目启动会议的时候。我见到了来自世界各地不同部门的人员,虽然我与这些人共事多年,但这是我第一次与他们直接面对面交谈,同时也参观了公司运作的发源地。我们只不过是开发了这些产品,但实际上还需要销售人员、营销人员、期刊出版人员的支持,我们所有人齐聚一处,尽情狂欢。这是我最难忘的经历之一。

在爱思唯尔工作期间,您最自豪的职业成就是什么?

几年前,爱思唯尔开始做一款名为Strata的产品,它是爱思唯尔此类别中的第一款产品,旨在围绕研究人员数据提供分析。我有幸被任命为首席工程师,负责管理一大组来自世界各地不同办公室的工程师,包括阿姆斯特丹、意大利和印度的多个办公室。我们成功推出了采用新技术开发的产品,那真的是一次很好的学习经历。这款独特的产品由高性能计算机群提供,可以帮助不同组织的教务人员和图书管理员在科技世界中做出明智决策。

在爱思唯尔工作是怎样帮助您实现工作与生活之间的良好平衡的?

我觉得爱思唯尔是鼓励员工在工作与生活之间保持良好平衡的。我的经理也非常鼓励这种做法。我家里的孩子还很小,但公司政策非常灵活,允许我在上班空隙时间去孩子的学校参加一些活动,然后再回来上班。最近为了保持健康,我开始在午餐时间会去跑一会儿步。跑步回来后,我会在办公室冲个澡,然后继续精神饱满地投入工作。所以,我们公司的确都保持着这种非常灵活的工作生活平衡。而这也是我在这里工作的原因之一。

爱思唯尔有哪些地方吸引您,让您早上有动力起床工作?

最令我兴奋的是每天都有新的挑战。这可能是要解决的新问题,要实施采用我们的新算法并向客户提供的新指标,这些新指标,或者我们要对全新类型的数据馈送进行分析,看看能否使用这种类型以及如何将它集成到我们的产品中。不会有片刻感到无聊。和我一起工作的人都非常棒,我一直在向他们不断学习。爱思唯尔真的是一家非常好的公司,它正在朝着新技术的方向发展。爱思唯尔是出版巨头,以前重心全部放在期刊和研究上,但现在我看到大量资金被投入到新技术的开发和运用上,转向云计算,并且使用越来越新的技术(如HPCC或Spark)。

在爱思唯尔工作如何帮助您改变世界?

我真的感到非常骄傲。爱思唯尔致力于通过最新科学数据为研究专家和决策者提供支持,帮助他们做出明智决策并取得突破性的发现,为这样的公司工作我深感自豪,因为所有这些都将使我们的社会得到改善。这是最重要的一点。

更多员工

Fernanda Gusmão照片

Fernanda Gusmão

地点里约热内卢,巴西

Caroline Jones照片

Caroline Jones

地点牛津,英格兰

Najamuddin Khan照片

Najamuddin Khan

地点代顿,俄亥俄州,美国

Life at Elsevier:
Najamuddin Khan

locationDayton, Ohio, USA

“What excites me most is that every day it’s a new challenge. It’s a new problem to solve, a new metric to implement or a new data feed to use."

Najam Khan

Tell us about your role within the company. What do you do?

I’m a software engineer working with SciVal. SciVal is one of the products Elsevier offers for research management, and I work primarily with HPCC, which is High-Performance Computing Cluster technology. It’s a big data tool where I generate a large number of metrics, like scholarly output and H-indexes at researcher level, at the institution level, for all the countries and the world, using Scopus, which is another offering of Elsevier and also the world’s largest abstract database. We crunch metrics on that database, producing 30 or 40 metrics for the researchers, institutions, countries and world.

What’s your favorite experience so far working at Elsevier?

It has to be the first time I visited Amsterdam for a project kick-off meeting at the head office. I got to meet people from across the world and from different departments that I’ve worked with for years, but seeing them and meeting them for the first time face to face and seeing where everything happens. We were just developing these products, but then actually the sales people, the marketing people, the people from journal publishing, all of them were coming together in one building and having a blast. That was one of my favorite experiences.

What professional achievement from your time at Elsevier are you most proud of?

When Elsevier started a product called Strata several years ago, which was the first of its kind at Elsevier, looking to provide analytics around researcher data, I was chosen as the lead engineer to manage a large group of engineers working from several different offices across the world: Amsterdam, Italy and several offices in India. It was a really good learning experience to successfully launch the product developed by using new technology. We were using High-Performance Computing Cluster  to deliver this unique product, which would help deans and librarians at various organizations make informed decisions in the world of science and technology.

How has working at Elsevier helped you achieve a positive work-life balance?

I would say Elsevier really encourages a very healthy work-life balance. My managers always encourage it. I have small kids, and company policy is very flexible, which allows me to take a small break, go to their school, attend some events and come back. And recently I started running to keep myself healthy, and I do that during lunch hour. I come back from a good run, take a shower at the office facility and then get back to work fresh and energized again. So it’s really a very flexible work-life balance that is maintained here. It’s one of the reasons I’m here.

What excites you about Elsevier and gets you out of the bed in the morning?

What excites me most is that every day it’s a new challenge. It’s a new problem to solve, a new metric to implement using a new algorithm that we have researched, that we can provide to the customers, or we get to analyze a totally new type of data feed and see if we can use this and how we can integrate it into our products. There is never a dull moment. The people I work with are really great to be around, and I’m constantly learning from them. It’s really a very good company, and it’s moving toward adopting newer technologies. It has been a publishing giant, and the focus was all on the journals and research, but now I see a lot of money being invested into development and adoption of new technologies, moving to Cloud, using newer and newer technologies like HPCC or Spark.

How does working at Elsevier help you make a difference in the world?

I really feel proud. I really feel good to work for a company which is dedicated to supporting research professionals and decision-makers with the latest scientific data to help them make well-informed decisions and for them to make ground-breaking discoveries, because eventually all this work is going to lead to the betterment of the society around us. That’s the best part about it.

More people

Fernanda Gusmão photo

Fernanda Gusmão

locationRio de Janeiro, Brazil

Caroline Jones photo

Caroline Jones

locationOxford, England

Najamuddin Khan photo

Najamuddin Khan

locationDayton, Ohio, USA