在爱思唯尔工作:
Alicia So-So

地点牛津(基德灵顿),英格兰

“我喜欢为跨国公司工作,因为它让你有机会能够到处走走,看看不同的地方……”

Alicia So-So的照片

您在爱思唯尔从事什么工作?

我是一名展览协调员,已经从事这项工作将近6年了;我所在部门负责管理爱思唯尔每年在世界各地参展的500多场展览。这项工作包括:组织展位,发送期刊,与营销部门合作制作展览材料,设计并协调代表公司的所有业务单位和利益相关方的工作。去年我们协调了540场展览,这些展览是由我们团队成员共同完成的。其中我分管了52场展览。

爱思唯尔代表着什么,为什么爱思唯尔对您而言非常重要?

我们知道爱思唯尔代表着变革和进步。很显然,爱思唯尔提高医疗和技术人员的专业能力,从而使他们能够提供更好的服务,并做出开创性的决策和发现。我很开心能在一家作出变革并创造影响力的公司工作。

在爱思唯尔工作期间,您最难忘的回忆是什么?

我们的大部分工作是基于电脑和远程沟通完成的。所以,我虽然曾在一个由11名成员组成的团队中工作,但我从未见到过这些成员。去年,我去了趟阿姆斯特丹办公室,在进行了长达4年的远程电话联系和WebEx会议后,我终于有机会见到我们团队的成员。在远程共事多年后,与他们面对面的感觉真是太不一样了。

您是否有特别自豪的个人成就?

我是癌症支援慈善机构Look Good Feel Better的志愿者,我对此感到非常自豪。同时,因为我还是一名有资质的美容师和化妆师,我在许多自助皮肤护理和化妆培训工作坊里做志愿服务。爱思唯尔也会为慈善活动提供支持;在RE Cares活动期间,公司会为员工提供两个带薪日来支持其当地社区的慈善事业。我将这两天用于我目前支持和志愿服务的慈善机构和培训工作坊。有138,000人参加这为期两个小时的工作坊,而且每个人都收到了一个含有50多个品牌产品的礼包,使得他们在家里就能够让自己变得更美丽。我们帮助他们学会如何重塑自己,并让他们在接受了高强度治疗(如化疗)之后依旧可以重新焕发活力。

您为什么选择在爱思唯尔工作,是什么吸引您到公司工作?

我非常欣赏公司的价值观,即致力于变革、医疗和科学进步。同时,我也喜欢为跨国公司工作,因为它让你有机会能够到处走走,看看不同的地方,结识不同的人,体验不同的文化。”

您是否有自己的人生哲理或个人座右铭?

是的,我有自己的人生信条。对我来说,善待生活、时常欢笑、充满爱心的人就是成功者。虽然这并非是一条与工作相关的座右铭,但我觉得它适用于日常生活。

在爱思唯尔工作是如何助力于您实现工作与生活之间的良好平衡的?

工作与生活之间的平衡对我来说真的非常重要,因为我最近刚刚经历了人生的转变,成为了一名妈妈。我是一个全职工作的妈妈。幸运的是爱思唯尔采用的是弹性工作制,这意味着我可以在工作的同时继续履行我作为一名妈妈的责任。提前上班或者延迟下班,甚至是在家工作,这些都让员工能够找到合适的方法来完成他们的工作和任务。这是我快乐生活并能够成功完成自己双重角色的关键。

更多员工

Wael Mansour照片

Wael Mansour

地点迪拜,阿拉伯联合酋长国

Yoshiko Kakita照片

Yoshiko Kakita

地点东京,日本

Fernanda Gusmão照片

Fernanda Gusmão

地点里约热内卢,巴西

Life at Elsevier:
Alicia So-So

locationOxford (Kidlington), England

“I like working for a global company that gives you the opportunity to move around, see different places…”

Photograph of Alicia So-So

What do you do at Elsevier?

I’m employed as an Exhibition coordinator and I have been in the position for almost 6 years; my department is responsible for managing Elsevier’s presence at more than 500 hundreds worldwide exhibitions annually. This could entail organizing society booths, delivery of journals, working with marketing to produce materials for exhibitions, designing and coordinating the efforts of all business units and stakeholders that represent the company, in one place. Last year we coordinated 540 exhibitions, but they are shared among our team members and I currently manage 52.

What does Elsevier stand for and why is Elsevier important to you?

It’s good to know that Elsevier represents change and advancement, the simple fact that it enhances the performance of health and technology professionals, to deliver a better service, to make ground-breaking decisions and discoveries. It’s good to know that you work for a company that makes change and aims to make the difference.

What’s your favourite memory at Elsevier?

A lot of what we do is computer-based, and I’ve worked in the past with a team of eleven people that I’ve never actually met. Last year I went to the Amsterdam office I met my team in person for the very first time, after 4 years of phone calls and WebEx meetings. It was so different to see them face to face after years we have been working together remotely.

Do you have a personal achievement you’re particularly proud of?

I proudly volunteer for the only worldwide cancer support charity “look good feel better”. I volunteered for free self-help skin care and make-up workshops, since I’m also a qualified beautician and make-up artist. Elsevier also supports charitable activities; the RE cares days give employees two payed days to support charity in their local community. I’ve used these days for the charity workshops I am supporting/volunteering for. There are 138 thousand patients attending the two-hours workshops and each of them receives a package with products from more than 50 brands, a goodie bag to recreate their looks at home. We help them learn how to recreate themselves and feel rejuvenated after intense treatments such as chemotherapy.  

Why did you choose to work for Elsevier, what drew you to the company?

I really appreciate the company’s values, working towards change, medical and scientific advancement. But I also like working for a global company that gives you the opportunity to move around, see different places, meet different people and experience various cultures.

Do you have any life philosophy or personal motto you stand by?

Yes, I have a life philosophy. For me, success is seen in people who have lived well, laughed often and loved much. It’s not really a work-related motto but I think it applies to everyday life.

How has working at Elsevier helped you achieve a good work-life balance?

This is really important to me because I’ve experienced a life change and recently became a mother. I’m a full time working mother and the fact that Elsevier allows flexible hours means that I’m able to continue carrying out my role. Early starts or late finishes and even working from home enable employees to find a suitable approach to fulfil their tasks. This is key to my happiness and the success of being able to complete my role.

More people

Ludivine Allagnat photograph

Ludivine Allagnat

locationTokyo, Japan

Fernanda Gusmão

Fernanda Gusmão

locationRio de Janeiro, BR

Caroline Jones photograph

Caroline Jones

locationOxford, England