20th Tetrahedron Symposium


William L. Jorgensen, Yale University, USA

Since 1990 Bill Jorgensen has been on the faculty at Yale, where he is a Sterling Professor. He has been a leader in computational work on force fields (OPLS), organic and enzymatic reactions in solution, molecular recognition, and protein-ligand binding. Bill’s research group is also actively engaged in de novo drug design and synthesis for anti-infective, anti-proliferative, and anti-inflammatory agents. Free-energy perturbation calculations are at the heart of the group’s abilities for efficient lead optimization.

Among honors, Bill has received an ACS Cope Scholar Award, the ACS Award for Computers in Chemical and Pharmaceutical Research, the ACS Hildebrand Award, and the 2015 Tetrahedron Prize. He has been elected to membership in the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science, American Academy of Arts & Sciences, and US National Academy of Sciences. He has been the Editor of the ACS Journal of Chemical Theory and Computation since its founding in 2005.

Website: http://zarbi.chem.yale.edu/

Twitter: @JorgensenWL