1st International Conference on Bioresource Technology for Bioenergy, Bioproducts & Environmental Sustainability

2016 Speaker

André Faaij, Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, Netherlands

André P.C. Faaij (1969) is appointed as Academic Director Energy Academy Europe and Distinguished Professor Energy System Analysis at Groningen University (as by 1st of April 2014). In this position, he works with many stakeholders on energy transitions from regional to international level. The Energy Academy Europe is set-up as a centre of excellence on Energy Research, Education and Entrepreneurship and is as such a cross-cutting strategy priority for the University of Groningen and its’ partners, including some 400 scientists from natural to social science. Prior to this position he was Professor and scientific director of the Copernicus Institute of Utrecht University (130 scientists). His research covers, amongst others, bio-based economy, carbon capture and storage, intermittent energy sources, alternative transport fuels, energy system studies and modeling, impacts and sustainability of energy systems, technological learning and innovation in energy systems, GHG balances & accounting, energy and research policies.

The research he coordinated was subject to external evaluations in 2000, 2004, 2007 and 2014, which qualified this research as overall ’Excellent’ with respect to ‘Productivity, Quality, Viability and Societal Relevance’, showing strong international leadership in its’ core areas as Energy System Analysis, Biobased Economy and Carbon Capture and Storage. He is a member of a variety of expert groups in bio-energy and energy policy, research and strategic planning. He works as an advisor for governments, the EC, IEA, the UN system, GEF, OECD, WEF, WEC, the energy sector & industry, strategic consultancy, NGO’s, etc. Between 2003 and 2012, he was Task Leader of Task 40 under the Bio-energy Agreement of the International Energy Agency on ‘Sustainable International Bio-energy Trade’ and, in the same framework, acted as national representative in several other tasks. He is an advisor to various UN energy activities (including UNIDO, UNEP, FAO). He contributed to various IPCC reports, the World and Global Energy Assessment and IEA’s World Energy Outlook, covering energy systems, bio-energy, waste management and energy supplies.

As IPCC member, he was awarded with the Nobel Peace Prize for the IPCC in 2007. Furthermore he was appointed Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum and 2015 he received The Linneborn Prize; established in 1994 for outstanding contributions to the development of energy from biomass. He is editorial board member and works as guest editor for several key energy journals, is a much asked reviewer for a wide variety of journals, scientific (including the European Commission, ERC National Science Foundation and the Royal Academy) and government bodies.