The 3rd Biennial International Conference on Bioresource Technology for Bioenergy, Bioproducts & Environmental Sustainability (BIORESTEC) will convene in September 2020, bringing together researchers in academia and industry, as well as policymakers, to discuss the progress made during the intervening two years and the latest trends in biotechnology, bioenergy, and biobased products.

The conference will build upon the successful 1st and 2nd BIORESTEC conferences held in 2016 and 2018.

The programme will be curated by a committee of world class academic leaders in their respective fields with key topic areas including:

  • Pretreatment and de-construction of lignocellulose and algal biomass/bioresources
  • Bioresources (including waste) recovery and recycling, including microbial electrochemical systems
  • Bioresources for biofuels (liquid and gaseous)
  • Bioresources for biobased chemicals & products, including gas fermentation and in situ product recovery
  • Thermochemical conversion of bioresources (lignocellulose and algae)
  • Biorefineries and white biotechnology
  • Systems approach: bioresource systems analysis, life cycle assessment (LCA), carbon accounting, nutrient-energy-water (NEW) nexus
  • Industrial applications and up-scaling of bioprocesses
  • Bioresource policy & economics

Conference deadlines

Abstract submission deadline – 1 May 2020

Early registration deadline – 26 June 2020


Conference Chairs

Ashok Pandey

CSIR-Indian Institute of Toxicology Research, Lucknow, India

Professor Ashok Pandey is currently Distinguished Scientist at the Centre for Innovation and Translational Research, CSIR-Indian Institute of Toxicology Research, Lucknow, India and Executive Director (Honorary) at the Centre for Energy and Environmental Sustainability – India. Formerly, he was Eminent Scientist at the Center of Innovative and Applied Bioprocessing, Mohali and Chief Scientist & Head of Biotechnology Division and Centre for Biofuels at CSIR’s National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology, Trivandrum.

View full bio

Duu-Jong Lee

National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Dr. Lee has worked on research projects on biomass energy, resource recovery from waste and microscale heat and mass transfer, which led to successful supervision of five Ph D and 64 M Sc theses in past 30 years. The research carried out till-date has credited him with 11 patents, one book, 12 book chapters, and 865 SCI papers with WoS citations over 23,000 with h-index=70.

View full bio

Scientific committee

Silvia Bolado, University of Valladolid Department of Chemical Engineering and Environment, Valladolid, Spain

Ángeles Sanromán Braga, Universidad de Vigo, Spain

Benjamas Cheirsilp, Prince of Songkla University, Hat Yai, Thailand

Ken Fukushi, University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

Wenshan Guo, University of Technology Sydney Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology, Sydney, Australia

Samir Khanal, University of Hawai'i at Manoa, USA

Christian Larroche, Clermont-Ferrand Polytech, Aubiere, France

Giorgio Mannina, University of Palermo Department of Civil Environmental Aerospace Materials Engineering, Palermo, Italy

Carole Molina-Jouve, Toulouse Biotechnology Institute, Bio & Chemical Engineering, Toulouse University, France

Ganti Murthy, Oregon State University, Department of Biological and Ecological Engineering, Corvallis, Oregon, USA

Huu Hao Ngo, University of Technology Sydney, Sydney, Australia

Hans Oechsner, University of Hohenheim, Stuttgart, Germany

Deepak Pant, Flemish Institute for Technological Research (VITO),  Belgium

Alessandra Polettini, University of Rome La Sapienza, Rome, Italy

Ulrika Rova, Luleå University of Technology, Luleå, Sweden

Jack Saddler, The University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada

Sang Jung Sim, Korea University Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Seoul, South Korea

Seema Singh, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Reeta R Singhania, Centre for Energy and Environmental Sustainability, India

Luciana Porto de Souza Vandenberghe, Universidade Federal do Paraná – UFPR, Brasil

Aijie Wang, Harbin Institute of Technology, China

Jonathan Wong, Hong Kong Baptist University Department of Biology, Hong Kong

Charles Wyman, University of California, Riverside, USA

Siming You, JamesWatt School of Engineering, University of Glasgow, UK