Elsevier Announces the Launch of SciVal Trends, a New Module for Research Analyses which Incorporates Citation and Usage Data

Amsterdam, February 25, 2015

Elsevier, a world-leading provider of scientific, technical and medical information products and services, today announced the launch of SciVal Trends, a new module within SciVal, Elsevier’s tool to analyze and benchmark the world of research, and part of the Elsevier Research Intelligence portfolio of tools and services.

The Trends module builds on SciVal’s existing flexibility to define and analyze user created research areas – for example, by key words or discipline, at a journal, institution or country level – based on citation and publication data from Scopus. The novel functionality in the Trends module is that it now includes research analyses based on usage data drawn from both Scopus and ScienceDirect. With approximately one-third of all researchers classified as not-publishing, and therefore not-citing, usage metrics provide valuable insights into research behavior of an impactful group of researchers that may otherwise remain “hidden.”

Combining these functionalities – citation, publication and usage data – the SciVal Trends module provides a new, full set of research-strategic, analytical markers for its users, which can, among others:

  • Visualize growing and declining topics in user created research areas
  • Target popular research papers at country, institution and/ or author level
  • Analyze research performance with new metrics, including: Views Count, Views Per Publication and Field-Weighted Views Impact
  • Highlight relevant and frequently occurring keywords or phrases within research areas through word cloud visualizations

“The development and launch of the Trends module within SciVal stems from a direct response to our customers’ needs to conduct deeper and more targeted analyses across user defined research areas,” says Nick Fowler, Managing Director, Research Management, Elsevier. “By introducing new research performance metrics we not only provide existing users with a more thorough comprehension of research trends, we also open SciVal to a wider audience such as funding bodies and governmental organizations. These groups play a key role in defining research strategy and allocating resources.”

For more information go to Elsevier Connect.


Notes to editors
Elsevier will host two webinars Thursday, February 26, to demonstrate the SciVal Trends module. The webinars are free, but registration is required. Login details will be sent after registration.

Asia Pacific & Europe time zones
9:30 to 10:15 CET (Amsterdam: 9:30 | Singapore: 16:30 | Sydney: 19:30)
Register here

Europe & America time zones
10:30 EST (San Francisco: 7:30 | New York: 10:30 | London: 15:30 | Amsterdam: 16:30)
Register here

About Elsevier Research Intelligence
Elsevier Research Intelligence is a research information management portfolio that improves institutional and individual ability to establish, execute and evaluate research strategy and performance. Combining SciVal tools, the Pure system and custom Analytical Services with the rich data asset Scopus and the reference management technology of Mendeley, Elsevier Research Intelligence equips research institutions, funders, policy-makers and researchers with a wide range of content, tools, and powerful analytics. Elsevier Research Intelligence helps individuals and institutions make better decisions, improve collaboration, attract more investment and optimize expenditure.

About Elsevier
Elsevier is a world-leading provider of information solutions that enhance the performance of science, health, and technology professionals, empowering them to make better decisions, deliver better care, and sometimes make groundbreaking discoveries that advance the boundaries of knowledge and human progress. Elsevier provides web-based, digital solutions — among them ScienceDirect, Scopus, Research Intelligence and ClinicalKey— and publishes over 2,500 journals, including The Lancet and Cell, and more than 35,000 book titles, including a number of iconic reference works. Elsevier is part of RELX Group, a world-leading provider of information and analytics for professional and business customers across industries. www.elsevier.com

Media contact
Sacha Boucherie
Sr. Press Officer Elsevier
+31 204853564