爱思唯尔指纹引擎

使用爱思唯尔Fingerprint Engine™作为一种赋能技术,爱思唯尔为科研机构和资助机构开发关键解决方案。

请求咨询

什么是Fingerprint?

爱思唯尔Fingerprint引擎是一款后台软件系统,对科研文件的文本进行挖掘,包括出版摘要、资助公告和授予、项目总结、专利、提议/申请以及其他来源,以对定义文本的加权术语创建索引,又称为Fingerprint可视化。

什么是Fingerprint?
图1:Fingerprint可视化

通过汇集和比较Fingerprint,爱思唯尔Fingerprint引擎让科研机构不仅止于元数据,并且揭示研究人员、出版物、资助机会和创意之间的宝贵联系。

爱思唯尔Fingerprint引擎为许多解决方案提供了动力,包括Pure、综合信息管理系统和爱思唯尔用于查找审稿人的“专家查找”工具。


利用主题词表涵盖广泛的主题领域

爱思唯尔Fingerprint引擎使用主题词表,以支持不同主题领域的应用程序。通过应用广泛的主题词表,爱思唯尔可以为研究人员开发解决方案,包括以下领域:生命科学、工程、地球与环境科学、艺术与人文、社会科学、数学和农业等。机构提供的主题词表也可以被纳入。

它如何工作

爱思唯尔Fingerprint引擎通过三个步骤创建Fingerprint:

  1. 爱思唯尔Fingerprint引擎运用各种自然语言处理(NLP)技术,以对科研文件的文本进行挖掘,包括出版摘要、资助公告和授予、项目总结、专利、提议/申请以及其他来源
  2. 定义文本的关键概念在跨越所有主要学科的主题词表中识别
  3. 爱思唯尔Fingerprint引擎对定义文本的加权术语创建索引,又称为Fingerprint。

运用Fingerprint做出明智决策

通过汇集和比较研究人员、出版物、资助机会和创意的Fingerprint,爱思唯尔Fingerprint引擎以实用的应用程序揭示深刻联系。以下是Fingerprint如何将学术业务智能引入数据的一些例子。


创建专业档案以促成合作

  • Pure汇集各份文件的Fingerprint,以创建揭示研究人员特有专长的独特Fingerprint。2014年年中,Pure将SciVal® Funding中资助机会的Fingerprint与研究人员的Fingerprint进行匹配,从而推荐合适的资助机会和合作方。

比较Fingerprint以找到审稿人

  • “专家查找”将Fingerprint文件与研究人员的Fingerprint进行比较,从而能够更容易地找到审稿人并提高潜在利益冲突的意识。

帮助研究人员找到发表文章的合适期刊

  • 爱思唯尔期刊查找器帮助研究人员找到适合发表其文章的期刊。期刊查找器将摘要与爱思唯尔期刊进行匹配,扫描爱思唯尔在健康科学、生命科学、自然科学和社会科学领域的2200多份书刊。

Elsevier Fingerprint Engine

Elsevier develops critical solutions for research institutions and funding agencies using the Elsevier Fingerprint Engine® as an enabling technology

Request a consultation

What is Fingerprint® indexing?

A back-end software system, the Elsevier Fingerprint Engine mines the text of scientific documents – publication abstracts, funding announcements and awards, project summaries, patents, proposals/applications, and other sources – to create an index of weighted terms which defines the text, known as a Fingerprint visualization.

Pure fingerprint index
Figure 1: Fingerprint visualization

By aggregating and comparing Fingerprint indices, the Elsevier Fingerprint Engine enables institutions to look beyond metadata and expose valuable connections among people, publications, funding opportunities and ideas.

The Elsevier Fingerprint Engine powers many solutions including Pure, comprehensive information management system, and Expert Lookup, an Elsevier tool for finding reviewers.


Covering a wide range of subject areas with a collection of thesauri

The Elsevier Fingerprint Engine uses a variety of thesauri to support applications pertaining to different subject areas. By applying a wide range of thesauri, Elsevier can develop solutions for researchers in but not limited to: the life sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, arts and humanities, social sciences, mathematics and agriculture. Thesauri provided by the institution can also be incorporated.

How it works

The Elsevier Fingerprint Engine creates Fingerprint indices via a three-step process:

  1. The Elsevier Fingerprint Engine applies a variety of Natural Language Processing (NLP) techniques to mine the text of scientific documents including publication abstracts, funding announcements and awards, project summaries, patents, proposals, applications and other sources
  2. Key concepts that define the text are identified in thesauri spanning all the major disciplines
  3. The Elsevier Fingerprint Engine creates an index of weighted terms that defines the text, known as a Fingerprint index.

Applying Fingerprint indices to inform decision making

By aggregating and comparing Fingerprint indices of people, publications, funding opportunities and ideas, the Elsevier Fingerprint Engine reveals insightful connections with practical applications. Here are some examples of how Fingerprint indices can bring scholarly business intelligence to your data.


Creating expertise profiles to enable collaboration

  • Pure aggregates the Fingerprint indices of individual documents to create unique Fingerprint indices that reveal your researchers’ distinctive expertise. In mid 2014 Pure will match the Fingerprint indices of funding opportunities in SciVal® Funding to your researchers’ Fingerprint indices, recommending appropriate funding opportunities and suggested collaborators.

Comparing Fingerprint indices to find reviewers

  • Expert Lookup compares document Fingerprint indices with researcher Fingerprint indices, making it easier to identify reviewers and raise awareness about potential conflicts of interest.

Helping researchers find suitable journals for publishing articles

  • Elsevier Journal Finder helps researchers find journals that could be best suited for publishing their articles. Journal Finder matches abstracts to Elsevier journals, scanning Elsevier 2,200+ titles in the Health Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences.