Skip to main content

Unfortunately we don't fully support your browser. If you have the option to, please upgrade to a newer version or use Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, or Safari 14 or newer. If you are unable to, and need support, please send us your feedback.

Publish with us

Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity

The Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry was established in 1980 by the Executive Board of Editors and the Publisher of Tetrahedron Publications. It is intended to honour the memory of the founding co-Chairmen of these publications, Professor Sir Robert Robinson and Professor Robert Burns Woodward.

 Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award journal cover


The Tetrahedron Prize is awarded on an annual basis for creativity in Organic Chemistry or Bioorganic/Medicinal Chemistry, and is presented to a chemist who has made significant original contributions to the field, in its broadest sense. The prize consists of a gold medal, a certificate, and a monetary award of US $15,000 and an invitation to present a plenary lecture during the annual Tetrahedron Symposium.

In 2024, the award honors significant original, creative contributions to the field of Organic Chemistry. The winner is expected to suggest appropriate authors for a joint Tetrahedron/Tetrahedron Letters Special Issue that will be compiled in their honour.

Application process

This year the prize will be awarded to an Organic Chemist who has made significant original contributions to the field, in its broadest sense.

To nominate candidates, please send a document (as PDF) containing the following elements:

  • The nominee’s name, current affiliation, contact details and website

  • A two-page biographical sketch

  • A list of no more than 10 of the nominee’s key publications

  • Two-page letter of support from nominator (including contact details of nominator)

The deadline for nominations is 30 April 2024.

Self-nominations are not accepted. Nominations can be updated and renewed every year and will remain valid for five additional rounds after the last renewal.

Please send all nominations to Liza Chan ([email protected]opens in new tab/window). Questions concerning the award may also be sent to Liza Chan.

For more information please follow us on our social media channels:

Past winners

View the list of winners on the Tetrahedron journal pageopens in new tab/window