Skip to main content

Unfortunately we don't fully support your browser. If you have the option to, please upgrade to a newer version or use Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, or Safari 14 or newer. If you are unable to, and need support, please send us your feedback.

Publish with us

Luis M. Liz-Marzán


Luis Liz-Marzán

CIC biomaGUNE (BRTA), Spain

Talk Title: New opportunities for nanoplasmonic biosensing

Luis M. Liz-Marzán is an Ikerbasque Research Professor at the Center for Cooperative Research in Biomaterials (CIC biomaGUNE) in San Sebastian, Spain. He is also a Group Leader at the Biomedical Networking Center for Bioengineering, Biomaterials and Nanomedicine (CIBER-BBN), and holds a part-time Chair in Physical Chemistry at the University of Vigo. His research field of interest is the synthesis, characterization, assembly and (bio)applications of plasmonic nanomaterials.

He received B.S. (1988) and PhD (1992) degrees in Chemistry from the University of Santiago de Compostela. After a 2-year postdoctoral appointment at the Van’t Hoff Laboratory (Utrecht University), he started his professional career as an Assistant Professor in the Department of Physical Chemistry at the University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain (1995), but soon moved to the recently created University of Vigo, where he founded the Colloid Chemistry Group and was promoted to full Professor of Physical Chemistry in 2006. In 2012 he was appointed Scientific Director of CIC biomaGUNE, position that he held until end of 2021. He has published more than 550 impactful papers, is a co-inventor on 12 patents and has supervised over 40 PhD students and 60 postdocs, many of whom are professors worldwide (Japan, China, India, New Zealand, Argentina, Brazil, Spain, Germany, France, Portugal, Italy…). He is a member of the Royal Academy of Sciences of Spain, the European Academy of Sciences, and Academia Europaea, and an international member of the National Academy of Engineering (USA). He recently received an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Antwerp (Belgium).

His research has been recognized by many awards, including a Humboldt Research award (2009), Dupont Prize (2010), the inaugural ACS Nano Lectureship award (2012), the Rhodia Prize of the European Colloid and Interface Society (2013), the Medal of the Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry (2014), the Rey Jaime I Prize in Basic Sciences (2015), the Spanish National Research Award on Chemical Science and Technology (2018), the Lilly Foundation Prize on Preclinical Biomedical Research (2021), and recently the Lourenço-Medinaveitia Prize of the Portuguese Society of Chemistry.