图书捐赠

作为我们对可持续发展和访问承诺的一部分,爱思唯尔向最需要的人捐赠被退货或降价出售的图书  2004年以来,我们与专业图书捐赠机构合作,向发展中国家的学校、医院、大学和非营利机构进行捐赠。Book Aid International和Books for Asia都有一个具有高针对性的图书执行系统,借助两端图书管理员的帮助,能够最大限度地减少浪费并扩大影响。

向亚洲提供图书

亚洲基金会

“亚洲图书”是该地区领先的捐赠信息资源提供方。该计划每年涉及20个亚洲国家的数千所机构,让学生、教育工作者、地方及国家领导获得所需知识,从而改善生活并增加机遇。通过捐赠和技术举措,我们向年轻学生灌输“从小热爱阅读对培养文化素养极为重要”的理念,积累商业、法律和科学领域的知识,强化职业和科研能力,提高必要的英语技能,从而有能力参与全球经济竞争。爱思唯尔在2016年发现了一项新的合作项目,目前正在针对亚洲发展中国家寻求适当的合作机构。

"发展中亚洲的专业人员常常缺乏有效工作所需的信息,有时是无力购买高质量图书,或是互联网连接有限,或者是对能够帮助他们的资源缺乏意识。‘亚洲图书’很高兴能与爱思唯尔合作,共同克服障碍,并向整个地区中值得帮助的机构提供领先的科学、卫生和技术书刊。”


国际图书援助

图书援助标识

“国际图书援助”通过创造阅读和学习机会促进发展中国家人民的读写能力。作为面向发展中国家图书供应和图书馆支持方面的英国领先机构,“图书援助”侧重于撒哈拉以南非洲地区,与遍及12个国家的伙伴组织紧密合作:喀麦隆、厄立特里亚、埃塞俄比亚、肯尼亚、马拉维、纳米比亚、巴勒斯坦被占领土、南苏丹、索马里和索马里兰、坦桑尼亚、乌干达、赞比亚和津巴布韦。

从2004年起,爱思唯尔总共向211个发展中国家的合作伙伴机构捐赠了约260,000册科学、技术和医疗类图书。爱思唯尔是“国际图书援助”中最大的医疗图书捐赠方,迄今共捐赠90,000册。

爱思唯尔捐赠的图书2015年2014年2013年2012年2011年
图书数量 23,000 10,000 20,000 12,000 24,000

”林贝”

2014年,八名爱思唯尔员工获得了加入“图书援助”赴喀麦隆的难得机会,在那里,他们亲眼看到爱思唯尔捐赠的图书和资金如何被使用。一行人参观了多家图书馆,并帮助在一座图书馆内创建了儿童角。

2015年5月,爱思唯尔员工与“国际图书援助”的Simon Mercer在爱思唯尔的密苏里林镇仓库一起打包约10,000册图书,赠送给被洪水冲毁的津巴布韦图书馆。该图书馆为大约3,000名学生提供服务。

2011年,爱思唯尔基金会向“国际图书援助”拨款120,000英镑,作为给基层照护卫生工作人员和消费者健康信息用户的三年资助项目基金(2011 - 2013)。此项目与肯尼亚国家图书馆服务(KNLS)合作,旨在提高15个关键公共图书馆的30名员工的技能。“国际图书援助”与KNLS合作,将来自医疗图书的关键内容重新包装并传达给服务匮乏的肯尼亚社区:医疗保健提供者和使用者。爱思唯尔和其他出版商为新的“健康角”捐赠书刊。

Book Donations

As part of our commitment to sustainability and access, Elsevier donates returned or remaindered books to those who need it most  Since 2004, we have partnered with professional book donation organizations targeting schools, hospitals, universities and non profits in developing countries. Both Book Aid International and Books for Asia work with a highly targeted book fulfillment system using librarians on both ends to minimize waste and maximize impact. Read more about our donation policy.

Books for Asia

The Asia Foundation

Books for Asia is the leading provider of donated information resources in the region. Each year, the program reaches thousands of institutions in 20 Asian countries, connecting students, educators, and local and national leaders with the knowledge they need to improve lives and expand opportunities. Through donations and technology initiatives, we help infuse young students with an early love of reading essential for literacy; build knowledge in the business, legal, and science professions; sharpen vocational and research ability; and enhance much needed English-language skills to compete in the global economy. Elsevier founded a new partnership in 2016, looking for an organ to partner with that targeted Asian developing countries.

"Professionals in developing Asia often lack the information they need to be effective — sometimes it's a lack of hard currency to purchase high-quality books, limited internet connectivity, or simply a lack of awareness of resources that could assist them. Books for Asia is thrilled to be partnering with Elsevier to help overcome this barrier and provide leading science, health, and technology titles to deserving institutions throughout the region."

Book Aid International

Book Aid logo

Book Aid International promotes literacy in developing countries by creating reading and learning opportunities. As the UK's leading agency in book provision and library support for developing countries, Book Aid focuses on sub-Saharan Africa, working with partner organizations across 12 countries: Cameroon, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Namibia, Occupied Palestinian Territories, South Sudan, Somalia and Somaliland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Elsevier has donated approximately 260,000 scientific, technical and medical books since 2004 to a total of 211 partner institutions in developing countries. Elsevier is Book Aid International's largest donor of medical books, with 90,000 donated to date.

Books donated by Elsevier 20152014 2013 2012 2011
Number of books 23,000 10,000 20,000 12,000 24,000

In 2014, eight Elsevier employees had the unique opportunity to join Book Aid on a trip to Cameroon, where they could see firsthand how Elsevier's donated books and funds were being used. The team visited libraries and helped create a Children's Corner at one library.

Elsevier employees in the Limbe City Council Library Children’s Corner, which they helped refurbish.

In May 2015, Elsevier colleagues worked with Simon Mercer of BAI in Elsevier’s Linn, Missouri warehouse to pack a shipment of ca 10,000 books to be delivered to Zimbabwe libraries destroyed by floods. The library had served around 3,000 students. Read more in Elsevier Connect.

The donated books arrived in Zimbabwe. Read more in Elsevier Connect.

Building health hubs in Kenya

In 2011, The Elsevier Foundation awarded Book Aid International with $120,000 for a three year grant (2011 -2013) to primary care health workers and consumer health information users. In partnership with the Kenya National Library Service (KNLS), the project developed the skills of 30 library staff across 15 key public libraries. Book Aid International worked with KNLS to repackage and communicate critical content from medical books to underserved Kenyan communities: healthcare providers and users. Donations from Elsevier and other publishers were used to supply the new "health corners".

Read the full story on Elsevier Connect