Skip to main content

Unfortunately we don't fully support your browser. If you have the option to, please upgrade to a newer version or use Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, or Safari 14 or newer. If you are unable to, and need support, please send us your feedback.

Publish with us

Series Editor

Roger Narayan


Dr. Roger Narayan

E-mail Dr. Roger Narayan

Dr. Roger Narayan is a Distinguished Professor in the Joint Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of North Carolina and North Carolina State University. He is an author of over two hundred publications as well as several book chapters on novel approaches for the processing of biomedical materials. He currently serves as an editorial board member for several academic publications, including as executive editor of Biomaterials Forum (Society for Biomaterials) and associate editor of Applied Physics Reviews (AIP Publishing). Dr. Narayan has also edited several books, including the Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering and the Encyclopedia of Sensors and Biosensors (Elsevier).

Dr. Narayan currently leads the Materials Research Society Bio Staging Task Force on 3D/Bioprinting; he has previously served as director of the TMS Functional Materials Division, the ASM International Emerging Technologies Awareness Committee, and the American Ceramic Society Bioceramics Division. As the 2016-7 ASME Swanson Fellow, he worked with America Makes, the national additive manufacturing institute, on several activities to disseminate additive manufacturing technology, including the development of a workforce/education/outreach roadmap for additive manufacturing and the development of a repository containing educational materials related to additive manufacturing.

He has served as the director of a Science Saturday outreach program at the North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences since 2010. Dr. Narayan has received several honors for his research activities, including the University of North Carolina Jefferson-Pilot Fellowship in Academic Medicine, the National Science Faculty Early Career Development Award, and the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award. He has been elected as Fellow of AAAS, ASME, ASM International, AIMBE, American Ceramic Society, and the Materials Research Society.