From the multi-award winning editorial team of G. Robert Odette (UCSB) and Steve Zinkle (ORNL), and with a contributor board drawn exclusively from the leaders of each alloy discipline, Structural Alloys for Nuclear Energy Applications instructs the current and next generations of researchers and industry staff on the behavior of steels and nickel-base alloys for nuclear energy applications. The book covers phenomenon including fatigue, deformation, and embrittlement, as well as materials topics such as advanced ODS steels, RAFM steels for fusion, computational design of nuclear structural materials, and much more.

Distilling valuable archival information for international researchers in the field of radiation effects on structural materials, this full-color reference is a critical resource for graduate students and institutional staff at this time of pivotal change in the nuclear industry.

Key Features

  • Cross-referencing of critical phenomena marries generality of phenomena (e.g., void swelling) to specific material or application
  • Hundreds of citations provide references for further reading
  • More than 140 full-color figures, graphs, and sidebars


Nuclear materials researchers at research laboratories, academic institutions, nuclear waste management and fuel reprocessing organizations

Table of Contents

Introduction and Overview

Radiation resistant austenitic stainless steels

Void swelling and irradiation creep

Development advanced melt processed TMS alloys

Creep and creep-fatigue of reactor structural materials

Low temperature deformation and fracture of irradiated steels

High temperature helium embrittlement in steels

RPV pressure vessels, embrittlement and life extension

Advanced pressure boundary steels


LWR internals

ODS steels for fast reactor cladding applications

Advanced ODS steels

Non aqueous corrosion and compatibility

Welding and joining

Status and prospects for advanced bainitic, martensitic & ferritic steels

Fabrication challenges for fusion structures

RAFM steels for fusion

TMS for advanced reactor cladding

Steels for advanced fission reactor internal applications

Status of advanced irradiation tolerant steels

Computational design of nuclear structural materials

Alloys for accelerator driven systems

Ni based alloys for LWR steam generators and high temperature reactor applications


No. of pages:
© 2018
Print ISBN:
Electronic ISBN:

About the authors

Steven Zinkle

Steven J. Zinkle is the Governor’s Chair Professor for Nuclear Materials, University of Tennessee-Knoxville and Oak Ridge National Laboratory in Tennessee. Zinkle has researched the physical metallurgy of structural materials; ion and neutron irradiation effects on the microstructure, physical and mechanical properties of metals and ceramics; fusion and fission reactor materials studies; deformation and fracture mechanisms. He is author or co-author of 230 papers. He was the inaugural recipient of the Robert Cahn Award, Elsevier Nuclear Materials Conference (2010), the IEEE Nuclear & Plasma Sciences Society Fusion Technology Award (2006), and was appointed ORNL Corporate Fellow (2004 – the “highest award possible to an ORNL staff member”), Fellow of TMS (2011), AAAS (2007), ANS (2007), ASM International (2003), American Ceramic Society (2001).

Robert Odette

G. Robert Odette was most recently Professor of Materials and Professor of Mechanical Engineering UC Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA, USA. Odette’s research focuses on building rigorous models for prediction of material performance in hostile environments, including intense neutron radiation fields in fission and future fusion reactors, as well as developing new high performance, long-lived structural alloys and composites. Research integrates advanced multi-scale models and experiments linking non-equilibrium microstructural evolution, fundamental micromechanics of deformation and fracture, performance sustaining mechanical properties, and structural integrity assessment. Odette has authored or co-authored 240 papers. He was winner of the ANS Distinguished achievement award (1994), and is a fellow of ANS (1998). He was past winner of the ANS Mishima Award (1998) & ANS Outstanding paper (2004). In February 2009 a TMS Symposium was held to celebrate his work on the occasion of his 65th birthday.