Skip to main content

Unfortunately we don't fully support your browser. If you have the option to, please upgrade to a newer version or use Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, or Safari 14 or newer. If you are unable to, and need support, please send us your feedback.

Publish with us

Chunshan Song


Chunshan Song

The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China

Chunshan Song (宋春山) is Dean of the Faculty of Science and Wei Lun Professor of Chemistry at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of the Pennsylvania State University in the US, and Adjunct Professor at Dalian University of Technology. Before joining CUHK, he was Director of EMS Energy Institute, Distinguished Professor of Fuel Science and Professor of Chemical Engineering at the Pennsylvania State University, where he was the founding Director of the University Coalition for Fossil Energy Research consisting of 15 major research universities funded by the US DOE during 2015-2020. He received PhD and MS in Applied Chemistry from Osaka University, Japan, and BS in Chemical Engineering from Dalian University of Technology, China. His research focuses on the catalysis and chemistry of energy and fuels including CO2 capture and conversion to chemicals and fuels; non-thermalplasmacatalysis,adsorptive, oxidative and catalytic processing of fuels; shape-selective catalysis; synthesis and application of nano-porous materials. He is a Fellow of American Chemical Society, has 500 refereed publications,8 patents and 15 edited books。 He received George A. Olah Award in Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry; Henry H. Storch Award in Fuel Science; Fulbright Distinguished Scholar; ACS Energy & Fuels Distinguished Researcher Award; Outstanding Achievement Award from the Chinese American Chemical Society; Herman Pines Award from Catalysis Club of Chicago; and Catalysis Club of Philadelphia Award. He is an Honorary Professor of Tianjin University and held Visiting or Guest Professorship at Tsinghua University, Imperial College London and University of Paris VI (now Sorbonne University).