Skip to main content

Unfortunately we don't fully support your browser. If you have the option to, please upgrade to a newer version or use Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, or Safari 14 or newer. If you are unable to, and need support, please send us your feedback.

Publish with us

Conference speaker

Deji Akinwande


Deji Akinwande

Endowed Professor

University of Texas - Austin, USA

Title: Graphene electronic tattoos for vital sign and blood pressure monitoring

Deji Akinwande is an Endowed Professor at the University of Texas at Austin, and a Fellow of the IEEE, the American Physical Society (APS), and the African Academy of Sciences. His research focuses on 2D materials, pioneering device innovations from lab towards applications.

He received the PhD degree from Stanford University in 2009. Prof. Akinwande has been honored with the 2018 Fulbright Specialist Award, 2017 Bessel-Humboldt Research Award, the U.S Presidential PECASE award, the inaugural Gordon Moore Inventor Fellow award, the inaugural IEEE Nano Geim and Novoselov Graphene Prize, the IEEE “Early Career Award” in Nanotechnology, the NSF CAREER award, several DoD Young Investigator awards, and was a past recipient of fellowships from the Kilby/TI, Ford Foundation, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, 3M, and Stanford DARE Initiative. His research achievements have been featured by Nature news, Time and Forbes magazine, BBC, CNN, Discover magazine, Wall Street Journal, and many media outlets. He serves as an Editor ACS Nano and Nature NPJ 2D Materials & Applications, and on the editorial board for Science. He is the co-Chair of the Gordon Research Conference on 2D electronics, and was a past Chair of the 2018/2019 Device Research Conference (DRC), and the Nano-device sub-committee for the 2018 IEEE IEDM Conference. He co-authored a textbook on carbon nanotubes and graphene device physics by Cambridge University Press, and was recently a finalist for the Regents' Outstanding Teaching Award, the highest teaching award from the University of Texas System.