2008 Nobel Prize Laureates

Elsevier congratulates the 2008 Nobel Laureates and their tremendous achievements in the fields of Medicine, Economics, Chemistry and Physics. We are honored to have been able to work with many of these great scholars in the creation and dissemination of their ground-breaking research. In recognition of their contributions, we are pleased to make the articles they have published with Elsevier freely available to the scientific community.

Nobel Prize in Economics 2008


This year, the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences, was awarded to Paul Krugman, (USA, 1953) “for his analysis of trade patterns and location of economic activity”.

Paul Krugman, Professor of Economics and International Affairs at Princeton University, USA

In addition to publishing much of his own work with Elsevier including chapters in the Handbook of Industrial Organization, Vol. 2 and the Handbook of International Economics, Vol. 3, Paul Krugman is on the Editorial Board for the journal, Japan and the World Economy

Learn more about his analyses.

Nobel Prize in Physics


This year's Nobel Prize for physics was awarded to Yoichiro Nambu (Japan, 1921)
Makoto Kobayashi (Japan, 1944) and Toshihide Maskawa (Japan, 1940) "for the discovery of the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics"

Yoichiro Nambu, University of Chicago, Enrico Fermi Institute, USA
Makoto Kobayashi, High Energy Accelerator Research Organization (KEK), Japan
Toshihide Maskawa, Kyoto Sangyo University, Japan.

Learn more about their discoveries.

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2008


This year’s Nobel prize was awarded to Osamu Shimomura, Martin Chalfie and Roger Y. Tsien "for their discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP"

Osamu Shimomura, Marine Biological Laboratory, Woods Hole, MA, USA
Martin Chalfie, Columbia University, NY, USA
Roger Y. Tsien, University of California, San Diego, CA, USA

In addition to publishing in Elsevier Journals such as Cell and Trends in Biochemical Sciences, we are proud to announce that Roger Y. Tsien was a plenary lecture speaker during the Ninth Tetrahedron Symposium, held in Berkeley, California, July 22-25, 2008. Elsevier is also honoured that three other Chemistry Nobel Prize Laureates, Elias J. Corey (Nobel Prize, Chemistry, 1990), Jean-Marie Lehn (Nobel Prize, Chemistry, 1987) and Richard Schrock (Nobel Prize, Chemistry, 2005) will be presenting plenary lectures during the next Tetrahedron Symposium taking place in Paris, France, June 23 - 26, 2009 and coinciding with the 50th Anniversary Year of Tetrahedron Letters

Learn more about their discoveries.

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2008


This year the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was divided between two discoveries of viruses involved in diseases that affect global health.

Harald zur Hausen German Cancer Research Centre, Heidelberg, Germany, received one half of the prize for his discovery of “human papilloma viruses (HPV) causing cervical cancer”

The other half of the Nobel Prize in Medicine went jointly to

Francoise Barre-Sinoussi Regulation of Retroviral Infections Unit, Virology Department, Institut Pasteur in Paris, Franceand

Luc Montagnier World Foundation for AIDS Research and Prevention, Paris, France

for their discovery of “Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)”, the cause of AIDS.

Professor Zur Hausen’s discovery has ultimately led to the development of prophylactic vaccines against HPV acquisition. Elsevier is delighted and proud that Professor Zur Hausen has chosen so many of our journals including Virology, Vaccine, and the Lancet to publish his outstanding work. In addition, we commend his contribution to the unique 2006 Vaccine supplement, dedicated to 'HPV vaccines and screening'".

Learn more about their discoveries.