Itô Prize

Announcing 2017 Itô Prize winners

We are pleased to announce the 2017 Itô Prize winners Adrián González Casanova, Noemi Kurt, Anton Wakolbinger, Linglong Yuan, for their paper entitled: ‘An individual-based model for the Lenski experiment, and the deceleration of the relative fitness’ published in the journal Stochastic Processes and Applications.

The Itô Prize honors the memory and celebrates the legacy of Professor Kiyosi Itô and his vast and seminal contributions to probability theory. It is awarded every two years and recognizes significant contributions to the advancement of the theory or applications of stochastic processes over the corresponding period.

The 2017 winning article was chosen by a selection committee consisting of senior members of the probability community and representing wide geographical and specialization diversity. The award will be presented at the 39th Conference on Stochastic Processes and their Applications (SPA) to be held 24-28th July 2017 in Moscow, Russia. The award consists of a certificate and a monetary award of US$5000.

The authors will give a plenary talk at the SPA 2017 Conference.

The paper is freely available to access until the end of 2017 via ScienceDirect.

Previous Itô prize winners

2015: Francis Comets and Michael Cranston for their paper
Overlaps and pathwise localization in the Anderson polymer model
Stochastic Processes and their Applications, Volume 123, Issue 6, June 2013, Pages 2446–2471

2013: Hirofumi Osada for the paper
Interacting Brownian motions  in infinite dimensions with logarithmic interaction potentials II: Airy random  point field
Stochastic Processes and their Applications, Volume 123, Issue 3, March 2013, pages 813–838

2011: Nathalie Eisenbaum and Haya Kaspi for their paper
On permanental processes
Stochastic Processes and Applications, Volume 119, Issue 5, May 2009, pages 1401-1415.

2009: Marc Wouts for the paper
A coarse graining for the Fortuin-Kasteleyn measure in random media

Stochastic Processes and their Applications, Volume 118, Issue 11, November 2008, Pages 1929-1972.

2007: Sylvie Roelly and Michèle Thieullen for the paper
Duality formula for the bridges of a Brownian diffusion: Application to gradient drifts
Stochastic Processes and their Applications, Volume 115, Issue 10, October 2005, Pages 1677-1700

2005: Nicolai V. Krylov for the paper
On weak uniqueness for some diffusions with discontinuous coefficients
Stochastic Processes and their Applications, Volume 113, Issue 1, September 2004, Pages 37-64

2003: Ben Hambly, James Martin and Neil O'Connell for the paper
Concentration results for a Brownian directed percolation problem
Stochastic Processes and their Applications, Volume 102, 2002 Pages 207-220

Lévy Lecture

A Levy speaker is invited and sponsored by Elsevier to give a lecture at the annual International Conference on Stochastic Processes and their Applications.

We are honored to announce that Professor Gérard Ben Arous, Director of the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences at the New York University will present the Lévy Lecture at SPA 2013. The Lévy lecture is a plenary lecture presented at the annual SPA conference, sponsored by the journal Stochastic Processes and their Applications.

This year's conference SPA 2013, also known as the 36th Conference on Stochastic Processes and Their Applications, will be held on the campus of the University of Colorado, Boulder, USA from July 29 to August 2, 2013.

Previous Lévy lectures

  • Maria Eulália Vares (Istanbul 2012)
    Dependent percolation: some examples and multi-scale tools
  • Jean-François Le Gall (Oaxaca 2011)
    The Brownian map: A universal model for a random continuous surface
  • Claudio Landim (Osaka 2010)
    Metastability of Markov processes
  • Amir Dembo (Berlin 2009)
    Statistical mechanics on sparse random graphs
  • Alice Guionnet (Singapore 2008)
    Free Brownian motion and applications
  • Martin Barlow (Champaign-Urbana 2007)
    Random walks, percolation, and the random conductance model
  • Hans Föllmer (Paris 2006)
    Probabilistic approaches to the quantification of financial risk
  • Jean Bertoin (Santa Barbara 2005)
    Different aspects of model for random fragmentation processes
  • Wendelin Werner (Barcelona 2004)
    Brownian loop-soups, SLE and Conformal Field Theory
  • Frank den Hollander (Angra dos Reis 2003)
    Metastability under stochastic dynamics

Karl Pearson Prize

The inaugural Karl Pearson Prize is awarded to Peter McCullagh and John Nelder1 for their monograph Generalized Linear Models (1983). The ISI’s Karl Pearson Prize was established in 2013 to recognize a contemporary a research contribution that has had profound influence on statistical theory, methodology, practice, or applications. The contribution can be a research article or a book and must be published within the last three decades.

The Prize consists of a cash award of 5,000 euros, and the winner will present the Karl Pearson Lecture at the World Statistics Congress. If the contribution has multiple authors, the cash prize will be divided equally, and travel support, up to 5,000 euros, will be provided for one of the authors to attend the WSC and present the lecture.

Generalized Linear Models has changed forever teaching, research and practice in statistics. It provides a unified and self-contained treatment of linear models for analyzing continuous, binary, count, categorical, survival, and other types of data, and illustrates the methods on applications from different areas. The monograph is based on several groundbreaking papers, including “Generalized linear models,” by Nelder and Wedderburn, JRSS-A (1972), “Quasi-likelihood functions, generalized linear models, and the Gauss-Newton method,” by Wedderburn, Biometrika (1974), and “Regression models for ordinal data,” by P. McCullagh, JRSS-B (1980).

The implementation of GLM was greatly facilitated by the development of GLIM, the interactive statistical package, by Baker and Nelder. In his review of the GLIM3 release and its manual in JASA 1979 (pp. 934-5), Peter McCullagh wrote that "It is surprising that such a powerful and unifying tool should not have achieved greater popularity after six or more years of existence.” The collaboration between McCullagh and Nelder has certainly remedied this issue and has resulted in a superb treatment of the subject that is accessible to researchers, graduate students, and practitioners.

The prize, awarded on a biennial basis, on the occasion of the ISI World Statistics Congress, was presented on August 27, 2013 at the ISI World Statistics Congress in Hong Kong. It was followed by the Karl Pearson Lecture by Peter McCullagh.