Nobel Prize 2013 - Physics

Nuclear Physics B and Physics Letters B congratulate the winners!

The editors and the publisher of Nuclear Physics B and ofPhysics Letters B congratulate François Englert, and Peter W. Higgs, both valued authors of Physics Letters B, for receiving the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physics. Both physicists were honored "for the theoretical discovery of a mechanism that contributes to our understanding of the origin of mass of subatomic particles, and which recently was confirmed through the discovery of the predicted fundamental particle, by the ATLAS and CMS experiments at CERN's Large Hadron Collider". Our congratulations to this amazing achievement, Prof. Englert and Prof. Higgs!

François Englert and Peter W. Higgs are jointly awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics 2013 for the theory of how particles acquire mass. In 1964, they proposed the theory independently of each other (Englert together with his now deceased colleague Robert Brout). In 2012, their ideas were confirmed by the discovery of a so called Higgs particle at the CERN laboratory outside Geneva in Switzerland.