Previous Winners of Gerhard Ertl Young Investigator Award for Excellent Research in Surface Science


Alexander Ako Khajetoorians (Hamburg University) for his presentation “Exploring quantum magnetism at the single atom level”.


Alexandre Tkatchenko (Fritz-Haber-Institut der MPG, Berlin, Germany)

The jury selected his presentation, entitled “Towards accurate modeling of van der Waals interactions for surfaces and interfaces”.


Leo Gross (IBM Research – Zürich, Switzerland)

Selected for his work on charge measurement of adsorbed atoms and atomic resolution of molecules with noncontact atomic force microscopy (AFM).