Kai Siegbahn Prize

We are pleased to announce that the winner of the 2009 Kai Siegbahn prize, Dr. Eli Rotenberg, was announced at the SRI09 conference in Melbourne on September 30th, 2009, while a special ceremony was organized on October 2nd, 2009 at the Department of Physics of the University of Uppsala where Dr. Rotenberg was invited.

General information regarding the Kai Siegbahn Prize

The Prize, established in honor of the founder of Nuclear Instruments and Methods A, will be awarded every two years and carries a EUR 3000 prize plus a travel allowance to the meeting at which the prize is awarded and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient.

Nominations are open to scientists of all nationalities without regard to the geographical site at which the work was performed. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. The prize recipient should be 45 years old or younger at time of selection. Nominations are active for two prize cycles.

The aim of the Prize is: To recognize and encourage outstanding experimental achievement in synchrotron radiation research with a significant component of instrument development. Particular preference will be given to the development of synchrotron radiation spectroscopies.