Awards, medals and sponsorships

Mathematical Sciences Sponsorship Fund
The Elsevier Mathematical Sciences Sponsorship Fund has been started to support events and activities that benefit individuals and groups within the mathematical sciences. Proposals are welcome for single-year grants in amounts between US$500 and US$5,000. Annually, two rounds of evaluations take place – one in December and one in June, whereby an application needs to fall into at least one of four categories.

Karl Pearson Prize
Initiated during the International Year of Statistics 2013, the award will recognize a research article or book published within the last three decades that has had profound influence on statistical theory; methodology; practice; or applications. The prize has also the purpose of honoring the vast contributions of Karl Pearson, a mathematician, philosopher and a key figure in the development of Mathematical Statistics. The Prize will be awarded biennially at the ISI World Statistics Congress and consists of a cash award and travel support.

Mary Ellen Rudin Young Researcher Award Fund
In memory of the late Mary Ellen Rudin, we are honored to announce an award recognizing talented young researches in any of the areas central to topology. Formally introduced at the 47th Spring Topology Meeting and sponsored by Elsevier, the award will celebrate Mary Ellen's achievements and will continue her legacy, encouraging the development of young talent in mathematics. The recipient will be chosen by a selection committee and will be at most one year away from completing his/her PhD or at most three years after his/her PhD. This recognition will take the form of an annual prize.

Institut Henri Poincaré / Elsevier prize
Every year the Institut Henri Poincaré and Elsevier, with the assistance of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS) awards the Institut Henri Poincaré / Elsevier prize. The award goes to a paper published by young scientists in the Annales de l'Institut Henri Poincaré © Non Linear Analysis in the prior year to the award.

JMAA Ames Award
After passing away in 2008, the family of Dr. Ames donated a substantial sum to honour Dr. Ames' contributions to mathematics and the Journal of Mathematical Analysis and Applications (JMAA). Elsevier, Publisher of the JMAA, donated a matching sum and the combined account, The JMAAAmes Award Fund, is now entrusted with and managed by the American Mathematical Society. As recognition of Dr. Ames' many years of outstanding service to the Journal, two annual awards were established, in pure and applied mathematics.

Itô Prize
The Itô Prize, established in 2003, is awarded by the journal Stochastic Processes and their Applications to reward a paper recently published in the journal that has significantly advanced the theory or applications of stochastic processes. The prize has also the purpose of honouring the vast and seminal contributions of Professor K. Itô to the subject. The prize consists of a monetary award and is awarded at the Bernoulli Society conference on Stochastic Processes and their Applications celebrated in odd years, where the winner presents the Itô lecture. The winning paper is selected by the Editorial Board of the journal Stochastic Processes and Applications.

The James S.W. Wong JMAA Prize
In honor of Dr. Wong's contributions to mathematics, career accomplishments, and editorial service to the Journal of Mathematical Analysis and Applications (JMAA), his son James Jr. and daughter Emily have contributed a substantial sum to establish the James S.W. Wong JMAA Prize. This sum was further matched by Elsevier, and is now administered by The American Mathematical Society. The Prize is a monetary award to authors of an outstanding JMAA paper published during the preceding ten years. The Prize will begin in 2013 and will be awarded biennially.

Conference on Formal Power Series and Algebraic Combinatorics (FPSAC) Best Student Paper Award
Annual award that is given at the FPSAC conference series to the best student contribution.

IISA Young Researcher Awards
The awards, co-sponsored by IISA (International Indian Statistical Association) and Statistical Methodology are presented at the bi-annual conference of the IISA, to two outstanding young researchers in theory and applications of statistics respectively. Eligible are members of the IISA.

Montucla Prize
Established in 2009 to award the author of the best article by a junior scholar published in Historia Mathematica in the four years preceding the International Congress of History of Science and Technology.

Contribution for the Vasil A. Popov Prize
The Vasil A. Popov Prize honors the memory of the Bulgarian analyst Vasil A. Popov (1942-1990), best known for his contributions to Approximation Theory. The Prize, which consists of an engraved marble trophy and a cash award, is awarded every third year for outstanding research contributions in fields related to Vasil Popov's work. Eligibility for this Prize is restricted to young mathematicians (defined as a person who has received their PhD degree within the past six years) who did not have their terminal degree on June 1, 2006. The Elsevier contribution on behalf of the Journal of Approximation Theory started in 2010.

SPA/Elsevier Travel awards
Elsevier sponsors annually, two to four SPA/Elsevier Travel Awards, for travel to conferences related to the field of stochastic processes. Eligible are young researchers (up to the age of 35) who have already published in the journal Stochastic Processes and their Applications or any other Elsevier journal.