Tetrahedron Prize 2011 Awarded to Prof. Manfred T. Reetz

ProfessorManfredTReetzThe Tetrahedron Prize for Creativity in Organic Chemistry for 2011 was awarded to Professor Dr. Manfred T. Reetz, Max-Planck-Institut fur Kohlenforschung, Honorary Professor at Ruhr-Universitat Bochum.

Professor Reetz is distinguished for his many outstanding contributions to synthetic organic chemistry, especially for his work on enantioselective catalysis to control stereoselectivity, often using transition-metal catalysts. Most recently he has been prominent in the discovery and development of catalysts for asymmetric reactions using laboratory-directed evolution of stereoselective enzymes.

The Tetrahedron Prize was presented to Professor Reetz at the Fall 2012 ACS National Meeting in Philadelphia, USA.